Cheese Stuffed Mushroom Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jenny662
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I AM THE OP. I made these recently and have some notes for you all. (1) The recipe was changed from original for some reason when posted here by AR. You only need one large skillet. Use half the butter, cook half the caps, removing those that are done, adding more butter and cooking the rest. Do not overcook or they become mushy. Keep them somewhat firm. (2) Neufchatel is a type of cream cheese with a milder flavor and sold right next to the regular c.c. in the store. (3) To make a thicker filling, add a tbsp. or two of plain breadcrumbs, not egg white. (4) Do not overlook the step of adding the finely chopped raw stems to the filling! This gives it more body and a bit of texture, and helps to thicken it up a little. (5) I used a cookie press and a very large star-type tip to fill the caps. Much faster, easier, and nicer looking. (6) I tried something new--After cooking and draining all the 'shrooms ("cup" down in the colander, by the way) I put the drained juice back into the hot pan along with whatever juices were still in the pan from cooking. I lowered the heat and simmered and reduced it until dark and slightly thick, about 5 minutes, stirring constantly. I added 2 tbsp. of butter and the garlic and continued with the recipe. It made them very savory with a concentrated mushroom flavor. Try it both ways and see which you like better! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
No complaints here! I changed a few things to suit my family's taste. Instead of goat cheese, I used feta and subbed green onions for the white onion. I also used much less butter when sauteeing the caps. This is a recipe that I would make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
These were a big hit - I was kind of surprised b/c mushrooms are usually not popular in my circle. But I had to use up some goat cheese so I thought I'd give it a try. WOW! Here is what I did: 1. cooked the sauteed the minced onion and stem pieces in a little butter 2. added some fresh spinach (for color) & a clove of garlic 3. let the onions & mushrooms cool 4. them mixed mushroom mixture with mozzarella cheese and goat cheese added some bread crumbs 5. broiled for 10 minutes until golden color 6. I omitted the butter drizzling thing They went really fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JINUPATEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I made these for a football party and they were a big hit. Everyone loved them. The recipe made a lot of filling and I used some of the leftover for a dip, but it was better as a stuffing. Also I skipped the last step where you drizzle the garlic butter over everything, because I thought they were buttery enough. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I have made these twice now and my boyfriend loves them- he doesn't even like mushrooms! I like to add half a cup of italian breadcrumbs to my stuffing and sprinkle parmesan cheese on top as well. Yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryyyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
They were a little too "cheesy" for me, but my friend liked them a lot! Like some other reviews, I changed the goat cheese to feta & the onion to green onion. (Although I do love goat cheese!) I also changed the butter to olive oil & used much less. I think the only other thing I might do differently is to maybe up the time under the broiler to 10 minutes--I added 2 more minutes after the 5 minutes & I still thought they needed more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Cooked this for Christmas. I skipped the last drizzle step and instead, sauteed the stems and garlic in the pan after cooking the mushrooms and just added that to the filling. Plus, I wasn't sure if the recipe called for Neufchatel or cream cheese and since I don't like blue cheeses anyway, I substituted the Neufchatel for fresh mozzarella. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This recipe is so delicious. My friend always made a mushroom appetizer that I loved, and I have been trying to find a recipe that recreates it. This is it!!!! I took these to a dinner party with friends and they were gone in 5 minutes! I made a few changes by not adding the garlic butter at the end and using finely chopped green onion instead of regular onion. I mixed the garlic into the cheese mixture. SOOO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
These were very good. I couldn't find goat cheese so I used blue cheese. I added a little more onion. They were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I've made these on three different occasions now, and every time I'm caught off guard by how delicious they are! The only change I make is to add minced garlic to the stuffing mixture, but these are scrumptious even without it! Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States