Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
My husband and daughters were addicted to cheese crackers until I found this recipe. I, too, use my grandmother's cookie press (my girls love helping with that part!) and I have made these with several types of cheese - pepper jack is my husband's favorite and the girls like the mexican cheese blend. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnwell, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
My dauther had to bring a "salty" snack to school for their christmas party, so we made these. we rolled them out really really flat and used christmas cookie cutters to cut them out. They were a BIG hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULI42298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
this recipe turned out great for me. i had to use another 1/2 stick of butter to make the dough come together, and to make it more cheesy, i subbed out some grated romano and used 1 teaspoon cayenne. i refrigerated for 30 to stiffen dough a bit and rolled it out to about 1/3 inch and used a pizza cutter to cut into strips. i placed on parchment and rolled the strips more round. i am not sure how long i baked them for but it was at 350 convection oven and i watched them until barely golden. the sticks held up beautifully with no breakage and had a cracker/cookie consistency. i will make thinner next time knowing they hold up so well. i saw another recipe with baking soda and was wondering about the drastric difference in a recipe with and without baking soda. one teaspoon of cayenne was not too hot for me. it was not a burn your mouth hot at all but a just pleasant i know this is spicy. i think this would turn out well also with little mini cookie cutters instead of cheese sticks. this had great consistency, great flavor. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe is a hit! I made a few changes, 2 cups cheese and 1 cup flour, instead of the amount given..I added a dash of worchestershire sauce and a dash of garlic powder. Also sprinkled with sea salt lightly before baking. Had planned to serve these tomorrow for the holiday, but my family ate them as fast as I was cooking them. Now I have to make a second batch! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Ellenwood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I am rating the idea of this recipe. I was going on a wine tour and needed a more grown up taste. I used 1/2 C butter, 3 oz. cream cheese,2 1/2 cups extra sharp cheedar, 1/2 c crubmled blue cheese, 1/2 tsp garlic powder,1-2 tsp hot sauce, 1/2 tsp salt. I rolled them into about 3/4 in balls and flattened with a floured juice glass. Sprinkeled with smoked paprika and baked for 8 minute. It's kind of like a grown up goldfish. They went well with the dried fruit and almonds I packed for the limo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hornell, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
not my cup of tea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Better than the recipe I grew up with. You do need to add a little extra milk to have them hold together, but just add a little at a time until it takes shape. Make sure your board and rolling pin are well floured. I sprinkle some of them with cayenne pepper for myself and leave the rest plain for the kids. These are NOT like goldfish crackers. If you have ever had cheese buns this tastes like the cheese that is baked on top. It is buttery and flaky and great for a snack or to dip in tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
From the reviews I was expecting something like goldfish crackers which would've been great for my kids, but thats not really what I got. They were good right after I made them, but weren't that great the next day. I did have to add a little water to get the dough to stick. i don't think I'll make these again. *Sorry*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
i made these for my boyfriend and they were great! i had a slight problem getting it to form an actual dough type texture, but i added another half a stick of softened butter, and it seemed to help a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
These were ok. I guess not really my thing. They reminded me of goldfish crackers. Same taste and less work to get a bag of goldfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States