Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
SO yummy, and so easy! And way better for you than the store bought processed crackers:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Really great and easy. My kids liked the dough just as well as the crackers. I let the cheese and butter sit to room temp, but the flour still made the dough too stiff to roll out. I used 1/3 cup of water and it made a more piecrust-type dough. I piped it out of a half-inch round decorator tip with a frosting bag and got great straws. Next time I'll add a total of 2/3 cup water and I think I'll be able to get the 1/4 inch straws I was after. They baked up much more crispy which = better flavor. They remind me of Cheese Nips, which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
These straws taste great, I topped with Paprika. The only thing I did not like was how crumbly the dough was. In the past I had a wonderful cheese straw recipe and hoping this was it, used to be able to twist the straws. With this dough everytime I tried to twist they just broke. Nice taste, but not quite what I am looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
The cheese straws were wonderful. However, I had trouble with the dough sticking together, and I added another 1/4 cup of butter. This was exactly what it seemed to need. I also added a bit more red pepper. Everyone loved them, and my batch of cheese straws did not last very long. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
For those at there that could not get the dough to roll in a ball, add a little milk or water and it will come together perfectly. never add more butter or eggs. On the flip side if the dough seems to soft just add more flour. I add freeze dried chives to the dough for a delicious twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Really good! I love these so much more than sweet cookies around the holidays. I added poppy seed to the top of half of them and they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I've used this recipe many times and people love it. I've never found it to be difficult; I think it's one of the easiest to roll and cut with cookie cutters. I use a 16 oz block of sharp or extra sharp cheddar and grate it myself. This softens the cheese a bit and allows it to cream just fine. The dough will be a bit crumbly, but just knead it together a bit and it's fine. I definitely don't bake them for the full 15 minutes; 12 and less is generally good enough. Mine tend to form a large air bubble, so I poke holes in them before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
added milk and egg to moisten the dough, and cut out into star shapes. :) will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
My husband and daughters were addicted to cheese crackers until I found this recipe. I, too, use my grandmother's cookie press (my girls love helping with that part!) and I have made these with several types of cheese - pepper jack is my husband's favorite and the girls like the mexican cheese blend. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnwell, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
My dauther had to bring a "salty" snack to school for their christmas party, so we made these. we rolled them out really really flat and used christmas cookie cutters to cut them out. They were a BIG hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULI42298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States