Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Easy to make! I am a college student just learning to cook. Hard to roll out and cut (very crumbly), but they turned out great! They spread a little, but maybe that is just from using margarine instead of butter. They were impressive to serve to my friends, but inexpensive to make! Just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Thank you! We loved these (especially my picky 2 year old!). I added some hot sauce & worcestershire to the dough to help form it. A little dry mustard in the mix is nice as well. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
These were pretty good. Like the others, I had to add some water to get the dough to form. I didn't have a lot of luck rolling large pieces out to cut into strips, so I just hand rolled them all, which did take a while. This recipe makes a TON. I might cut it in half next time. I sprinkled each cookie sheet's worth with something different- red pepper, garlic powder, seasoning salt, sesame seeds, chili powder, and paprika. I served them at our Super Bowl party yesterday with chili and everyone seemed to enjoy them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
These were alright. They tasted just like the cheese goldfish crackers. I didn't have to add any additional liquid like the other viewers mentioned. The dough is like course crumbs at first, but then I just kneaded it for 2-3 minutes in the bowl that I mixed it in. It came together enough to roll it out and cut into strips after that. Make sure not to overbake them, they burn quickly. This seems like a recipe that kids would really enjoy. I probably wont make these again (until I have kids):-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
These were just what I was looking for. I added about 1 tablespoon of milk and about 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
These were awesome and easy!!! I added about 4 tbsp cold water to form dough..I made them to take to a Cookie Exchange for nibbles..they were gone in no time, and I was asked for the recipe by several peeps!!! I am making them again for New year's Eve!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDY KENNEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bow Island, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
the boys loved these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
GREAT TASTE!!! Made bitesize because couldn't quite figure out the dimensions to cut the cheese strips in. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
very easy to make and tasty! the key is to, as others have suggested, is letting your butter and cheese come to room temp. i had no problem creaming the two together. i followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of adding in 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper into my dough (instead of sprinkling on after). i also ended up adding about a cup of water to make the dough come together. i rolled it out and cut into strips. and baked for 12-15 minutes. next time, because my dough was soft, i will try piping these through a pastry bag to form consistent sized straws. very good snack with minimal effort! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
These are great. I used sharp chedder. It's great to make these all year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States