Cheese Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This was SUPERB. Based on other reviews, and I wanted a thick soup, I used SIX cups of liquid - 2 cups of broth and 4 cups of water. Next time I think I'll put a little more potato. I used 4 brown potatoes that come in the bag (not quite full size baking ones) and I think 5 would be better. I also did not mash the potatoes until the cheese and soup were in and smooth, because I was afraid they would get too mushy, and that worked perfectly. I don't like celery so I used a mixture of white and green onion...seems perfect to me! I served it with a little bacon bits and fresh green onion to rave reviews from my dinner guests. Also, I don't know why anyone would slice Velveeta...I cubed it and it melted quickly and easily. Will certainly be making this again! I might throw in some shredded chicken next time for a one pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
My family LOVED this,I added more potato and added broccoli florets I'll def. be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I thought this was quite tasty. I did things a bit differently because of what was available at the store and I only made two servings. I'd suggest if making single servings the following proportions: 1 slice thick cut deli bacon (cook for two minutes in microwave then cut into pieces and add to soup pan). Finely chop 1/2 celery stalk and 1/4 small yellow onion. Add to pan with bacon and cook for a few minutes. Add 1 cup water and 4-5 oz diced potato (I used Yukon gold). Bring to a boil and then simmer 10 minutes. Using a fork smoosh most of the potato pieces. Add 1/2 tspn Better than Boullion, 4 turns of a pepper grinder, 1/4-1/3 can of cream of chicken soup with herbs and whisk until smooth. Add 3-4 oz processed cheddar cheese (I like velveeta but cheddar was on sale). Stir until melted. Serve immediately. Was very tasty with bread for dipping. Be sure you use processed cheese as it will melt better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Delicious! I made a few changes based on the reviews and my personal taste. Used 7 cups of water; left the potato peels on and only slightly mashed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I made 1/2 recipe of this to try it out, and I am glad I did! This was very boring tasting. I thought it was strange to go through the work of making homemade potato soup and then adding a can of soup. The canned soup dominated the flavor and it ended up tasting like "canned cheese potato soup!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Followed this one exactly and my only complaint is that the Velveeta never completely melted but by the time it did enough to eat, the potatos were overdone. Next time I would add more potatos so that it will be a bit more chunky. Second bowl in I added some cumin and liked it even better. Paprika, chives, and crutons for garnish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
WOW.. I was seriously hesitant to make this soup.. It was wonderful!!! It was very easy and could have vegetables or meat added very easily and still taste great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie1320

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Iron River, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This is the best recipe I have ever used - the friends we had over for dinner begged for the recipe and couldn't believe how simple it was! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I work at a school and made this soup for the kids salad bar and they enjoyed it. I found it to thin for potato soup so I thickened it with instant mashed potatoes and worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I've taken far more time to prepare recipes that weren't half as good. The cheese flavor is just about right. Because I had some chicken broth to use up, I used 7 cups of water and 1 cup of chicken broth. I used a cheap, store-brand of chicken soup and still this recipe tasted high-ticket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States