Cheese Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made a couple of changes and let me explain why. The frozen veggie mix would work fast and fine I am sure but my opinion is that if you are going to take the time to chop fresh celery, potatoes, and onion then why not just use fresh broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots too? Again, it depends on what kind of time crunch you are in ( I would use frozen if in a hurry too) but as a rule of thumb, fresh is always better than frozen. Velveeta is very salty so if using the bouillon and water, I would recommend cutting back on the bouillon cubes. I chose to use 2 1/2 cups of low sodium chicken broth in place of the bouillon and it was still a little too salty so I cannot even imagine four cubes. With all of that said, I do think the soup could use some herbs. I ended up adding a little bit of dill and parsley. All in all this is a great soup, easy to make, and I will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Ive made this soup a few times with several variations such as adding some leftover Bruschetta chicken or mashed potatoes to thicken it a bit. Its always a hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was so delicious and filling. I served it on a cold snowy day.. I did alter it to my taste. I added one cup of beer (lager) and 1.5 cups of chicken broth instead of the water. Then I added frozen cubed hashbrowns instead of the potatoes. I added them after I added the cheese. I also chopped up some green onions as well as a regular onion because I love onions.. Served it up with some beer bread...Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Very good and very easy. Only thing I added were a few fresh muchrooms. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Delicious! I added some fresh thyme and zucchinni; sauted the vegetables in fresh garlic and evoo. Warm and comforting especially when it was all I had in the house. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This wasn't bad, but it was kind of like eating a cup of melted cheese with chunks of veggies. I expected something a little richer. My kids turned up their noses, which was a big bummer. Thanks for the recipe though, it wasn't a waste of my time although I doubt we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckledmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This is a great, easy recipe! It freezes very well, too. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Really good! My kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This was an old family favorite and I had lost the recipe. Now I can make it for my family. Thanks. I also add a bag of real bacon bits to it. Instead of using celery, I add just a bit of celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Wow! This was just super! I was concerned that there may be too many veggies in it, but it was perfect! I added about 6 strips of cooked crisp bacon to it... and also, I didnt' cube the Velveeta. I just put it in there whole and stirred it a lot. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States