Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
ive never made this but i am a chef so i can tell u it will be disgusting. instead make a basic béchamel sauce: 1 quart heavy cream, 1 large onion cut in half, 10 whole cloves, 2 bay leaves, 1/16th tablespoon nutmeg. thicken with a blonde roux: 50/50 butter and flour- cook till crumbly and smells like cookies. add 8 oz cheese THEN slowly add the roux and allow 5 minutes to thicken at a low simmer as to not scorch the bottom of the pan and of course salt and pepper to taste. salt is very important so intermittently add pinches and taste it!!!! salt enhances flavor so if ur sauce is bland try adding more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is a great basic cheese sauce recipe. I have made it several times now and never had a problem with runniness and the texture is always smooth. As long as you mix things the right way and in the right order I don't see how this sauce is anything less than solid. Super quick and tops anything from veggies to pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
It was delicious! Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Disappointing. Why didn't I read the reviews properly? Awful texture - watery with rubbery clumps of cheese. What a shame and a waste. Cheese is not cheap. I'll go back to my old way of doing cheese sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was terrible. No flavor and very grainy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raspberry_waffles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Decent recipe, made a great sauce for my casserole. Wouldn't recommend it as a dipping sauce but great base for soups or casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Loved it... very creamy ;) Used Vermont Sharp cheese with a touch of White American & skipped the food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Delicious! I loved the kick of the red pepper (I used red pepper flakes not ground red pepper). Didn't use the food coloring and subbed cheese for cheddar. For those complaining about it being runny..add a dash of extra cornstarch, problem solved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was not very good to watery and spicy probably not going to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Turned out to be a great recipe, it wasn't grainy at all as some poeple complained. Followed the tip from The Bunny Chef in terms of ordering, and it was just purrfect! And oh I skipped the food coloring as well - the ground pepper added enough color on its own. Used the sauce with veggie garlic herb farfelle pasta and my whole family loved it, including my preschooler :) Will be a sure repeat from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States