Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Disappointing. Why didn't I read the reviews properly? Awful texture - watery with rubbery clumps of cheese. What a shame and a waste. Cheese is not cheap. I'll go back to my old way of doing cheese sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was terrible. No flavor and very grainy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raspberry_waffles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Decent recipe, made a great sauce for my casserole. Wouldn't recommend it as a dipping sauce but great base for soups or casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Loved it... very creamy ;) Used Vermont Sharp cheese with a touch of White American & skipped the food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Delicious! I loved the kick of the red pepper (I used red pepper flakes not ground red pepper). Didn't use the food coloring and subbed cheese for cheddar. For those complaining about it being runny..add a dash of extra cornstarch, problem solved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was not very good to watery and spicy probably not going to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Turned out to be a great recipe, it wasn't grainy at all as some poeple complained. Followed the tip from The Bunny Chef in terms of ordering, and it was just purrfect! And oh I skipped the food coloring as well - the ground pepper added enough color on its own. Used the sauce with veggie garlic herb farfelle pasta and my whole family loved it, including my preschooler :) Will be a sure repeat from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This recipe worked for me! I actually used cheddar, and took a suggestion from one of the reviewers and added a bit of lemon juice to hinder clumping. I also added a bit more spice--more salt and more red pepper. Otherwise, it worked wonderfully and tasted great over Radiatoirre pasta, and I'm sure it would taste great over veggies or nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Made this to go over macaroni. Flavor was decent but the recipe itself needs some tweaking. Like several others have said, the milk needs to be heated to boiling for the cornstarch to do it's thing. I also agree with several others that it needs more cheese and/or less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
this will do in a pinch but it wont become a regular over here. i didnt add the food coloring it just seemed wrong. that said they ate all their veggies tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States