Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
It is great, so easy too. I read the reviews but decided to follow the recipe anyway. I used 8oz Muenster cheese, 2Cup of milk, 2T corn starch. Once the cheese was melted, I put the corn start/milk mix in and it thickened quickly. For those who said the sauce didn't thicken, I wonder it is because of low fat or fat free cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I thought this was great! And so easy...especially since I made it in the microwave! I heated up the milk mixture for about 2 minutes (stirred halfway through), then added the milk/cornstarch mixture and microed again for about 2 minutes...stirring every 15 secs. Then I added shredded cheddar, stirred, and it was ready to go! It was great on veggies, and I put the leftovers on whole grain pasta the next day for mac-n-cheese for my kids! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
My kids really like this sauce. I use more cheese than is stated, but I didn't measure it (sorry). I do not normally have cornstarch, but used arrowroot instead and it thickened nicely after gently boiling it. I use this sauce for veggies, but I have also poured it into a baking dish with some noodles, baked it for 25ish minutes and made a mac-n'-cheese my boxed-character-shaped-mac-and-cheese-only kids scarfed! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by (ME)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This recipe makes a delicious cheese sauce, providing you assemble it the right way! Bring the milk to a boil with 1 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt and pepper (left out the food coloring), then whisk in the milk-corn starch slurry. It will thicken almost immediately. Let it boil for a minute or so, stirring the whole time, then remove it from the heat and stir in the cheese. The sauce has a great consistency and is very tasty. It does have a slight grainy texture, but ANY sauce made with real cheese is like that. We had it over corkscrew pasta and it was like fancy mac and cheese, would be excellent over broccoli or cauliflower. My boyfriend thought it tasted like something you'd get at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This is the best cheese sauce I have ever made. I used Cheddar. It worked the first time I made it - perfect texture, NOT RUNNY... quick(5 min.)/simple/mmgood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
GREAT SAUCE...Family enjoyed it with everything. Son even cleaned pot w/spon when I wasn't looking.Ha Ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
I thought this recipe was going to be runny like the people had mentioned above but it's not. You have to let it boil first and then it will thicken. I only added 2 cups of milk because of what was mentioned in the other reviews but I think all of it would have worked as well.It turned out very thick and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I use this to make mac and cheese, but the food coloring is unnecessary (and bad for you). I use any cheese I have on hand (i.e. colby or cheddar) and omit the garlic salt and red pepper. Great consistency and just the easiest sauce to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I jumped on allrecipes to find a quick, simple cheese sauce to put over the cheese reavioli I was cooking at that moment--and this filled the bill nicely! Yes it is mild, but my kids like it that way! I added a pinch of onion powder and seasoned pepper, and stirred constantly to keep from scorching. Mild but delicious to my 7-year-old twins' tastebuds--and that's good enough for me! Thanks--I love the last minute easy reciped featured here--this one I am sure I will need again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is a very good cheese sauce, I didn't add the sherry (I didn't have any). And I added a dash of nutmeg. It was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States