Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This recipe makes a delicious cheese sauce, providing you assemble it the right way! Bring the milk to a boil with 1 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt and pepper (left out the food coloring), then whisk in the milk-corn starch slurry. It will thicken almost immediately. Let it boil for a minute or so, stirring the whole time, then remove it from the heat and stir in the cheese. The sauce has a great consistency and is very tasty. It does have a slight grainy texture, but ANY sauce made with real cheese is like that. We had it over corkscrew pasta and it was like fancy mac and cheese, would be excellent over broccoli or cauliflower. My boyfriend thought it tasted like something you'd get at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Please listen, save your cheese milk cornstarch and time and look for another recipe. This does not cook right and we have tried it a few times and have learned the hard way! Like most of the other people are saying, it DOES go grainy and is way way too runny and the taste and looks of it is ugh. Me and my fiance spent way tooo much time on this and wasted milk cheese and now have nothing to dip our coliflower into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This is the best cheese sauce I have ever made. I used Cheddar. It worked the first time I made it - perfect texture, NOT RUNNY... quick(5 min.)/simple/mmgood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This is a great basic recipe for cheese sauce.. it just has the order of adding things a bit backwards... -do the 1/2 cup milk and cornstartch and set it aside. -in a sauce pan bring to a boil 2 cups milk and seasonings. -once the milk boils add the milk/cornstartch mixture. -once everything is mixed together and it thickens (it will thicken alot) THEN ADD YOUR CHEESE -As with most sauces you add the cheese LAST not first!! This turned out creamy and super yummy for me. I poured it over rotini noodles and it was perfect!! -i also used up some heavy whipping cream i had left over from alfredo sauce. So what i did was used the rest of my heavy whipping cream with milk (just mixed it all together)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura McGee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I find I needed to add a bit of sherry or lemon juice to the cheese a few minutes before cooking this. THat keeps the cheese from becoming stringy. Also, cut back on the milk a bit. It's a great sauce! I've tried to do cheese sauce by hand before and failed miserably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Nope, did not turn out for me either. I'm wondering if it could be the type of cheese used, or even milk. I always use skim milk, but mayb whole or 2% would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly
Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wyoming, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
I thought this recipe was going to be runny like the people had mentioned above but it's not. You have to let it boil first and then it will thicken. I only added 2 cups of milk because of what was mentioned in the other reviews but I think all of it would have worked as well.It turned out very thick and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Followed the recipe (and I do cook quite a bit) EXACTLY. Inedible. A waste of milk and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
My kids really like this sauce. I use more cheese than is stated, but I didn't measure it (sorry). I do not normally have cornstarch, but used arrowroot instead and it thickened nicely after gently boiling it. I use this sauce for veggies, but I have also poured it into a baking dish with some noodles, baked it for 25ish minutes and made a mac-n'-cheese my boxed-character-shaped-mac-and-cheese-only kids scarfed! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by (ME)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
This sauce is a great basic cheese sauce that makes my kiddos inhale at least a couple servings of veggies! I sub cheddar as I always have it on hand. I think what some of the other reviewers are missing is after you mix in the milk with the cornstarch, continue cooking it on low heat until it thickens, around 10 minutes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States