Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
After I tried this and it failed (way runny, didn't cook up at all the way the recipe stated), I looked at the reviews and saw how it has to be adjusted to make it work, even boiled. I boiled and it still didn't thicken properly. Will try another sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
I thought this recipe was going to be runny like the people had mentioned above but it's not. You have to let it boil first and then it will thicken. I only added 2 cups of milk because of what was mentioned in the other reviews but I think all of it would have worked as well.It turned out very thick and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
This sauce is a great basic cheese sauce that makes my kiddos inhale at least a couple servings of veggies! I sub cheddar as I always have it on hand. I think what some of the other reviewers are missing is after you mix in the milk with the cornstarch, continue cooking it on low heat until it thickens, around 10 minutes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Yum, this was just what I was looking for! I had to adjust the amounts and took others' advice posted here... I think I used about 12 oz cheese (2.5 cups), one tablespoon cornstarch and one cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
If zero stars were possible, it would apply here. I was looking for an alternative to Velveeta. This was simply cheese favored milk. Don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Coskey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
GREAT SAUCE...Family enjoyed it with everything. Son even cleaned pot w/spon when I wasn't looking.Ha Ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I expected this to be much thicker. I kept waiting for it to thicken, and it just didn't. It was just cheese flavored milk. Finally, I added a whole lot more cheese. I have no idea how much. I just grated it right into the sauce pan until it seemed like it would work. I poured it over brocolli and cauliflower served over baked potatoes. After all that work and time, the potatoes were cold, but the sauce DID taste good in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I find I needed to add a bit of sherry or lemon juice to the cheese a few minutes before cooking this. THat keeps the cheese from becoming stringy. Also, cut back on the milk a bit. It's a great sauce! I've tried to do cheese sauce by hand before and failed miserably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This is the best cheese sauce I have ever made. I used Cheddar. It worked the first time I made it - perfect texture, NOT RUNNY... quick(5 min.)/simple/mmgood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
This is a nice, easy and quick recipe that even my toddler loves! I omit the food coloring & red pepper. I have used a variety of cheeses and this recipe is very adaptable and always tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States