Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
My son, who usually likes broccoli, spit his broccoli out when I put this cheese sauce on it. It was gritty and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eilene Edwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Please listen, save your cheese milk cornstarch and time and look for another recipe. This does not cook right and we have tried it a few times and have learned the hard way! Like most of the other people are saying, it DOES go grainy and is way way too runny and the taste and looks of it is ugh. Me and my fiance spent way tooo much time on this and wasted milk cheese and now have nothing to dip our coliflower into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This is not a good recipe. The cheese never melts in the milk, instead it just turns into a zillion little curds. Then after you add the cornstarch, no matter how long you wait it does not thicken properly. So it's a thin, watery sauce full of curds. I was embarrassed to serve this to my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Decent cheese sauce. It thickens fine. Just don't let it sit or it will get grainy, just like any homemade cheese sauce recipe I've tried. Good flavor. We used it on broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This sauce was bland and blah. I melted the cheese VERY slowly and it still curdled. It took forever to thicken, and was really an odd colour, despite the food colouring. I will look for another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I halved the recipe because I only needed it over broccoli, and there was still alot. The recipe is time consuming because it's important to slowly melt the cheese over low heat so that it doesn't scorch or clump, and it's equally important to bring the cheese to a boil after the corn starch is added so that the sauce thickens. I wouldn't mind spending the time if I was "wowed" by the recipe, but my family found it pretty bland - I even added a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce. The one really great positive is that my 15-month-old son, who never eats broccoli, ate every last bite with the cheese sauce! That alone will cause me to experiment with this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I use this to make mac and cheese, but the food coloring is unnecessary (and bad for you). I use any cheese I have on hand (i.e. colby or cheddar) and omit the garlic salt and red pepper. Great consistency and just the easiest sauce to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
My kids really like this sauce. I use more cheese than is stated, but I didn't measure it (sorry). I do not normally have cornstarch, but used arrowroot instead and it thickened nicely after gently boiling it. I use this sauce for veggies, but I have also poured it into a baking dish with some noodles, baked it for 25ish minutes and made a mac-n'-cheese my boxed-character-shaped-mac-and-cheese-only kids scarfed! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by (ME)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
It is great, so easy too. I read the reviews but decided to follow the recipe anyway. I used 8oz Muenster cheese, 2Cup of milk, 2T corn starch. Once the cheese was melted, I put the corn start/milk mix in and it thickened quickly. For those who said the sauce didn't thicken, I wonder it is because of low fat or fat free cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
After I tried this and it failed (way runny, didn't cook up at all the way the recipe stated), I looked at the reviews and saw how it has to be adjusted to make it work, even boiled. I boiled and it still didn't thicken properly. Will try another sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States