Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I've been looking for a good thick delicious cheese sauce and I'm sorry but this isn't the one. I tried sooooooo many times and wasted soooo much cheese, milk ,and cornstarch and still couldn't figure out how to get it to thicken. It had a very delicious flavor to it but not thick. Even with all the suggestions I don't think I will try this recipe again. Maybe it has something to do with using cheddar cheese instead?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I thought this was great! And so easy...especially since I made it in the microwave! I heated up the milk mixture for about 2 minutes (stirred halfway through), then added the milk/cornstarch mixture and microed again for about 2 minutes...stirring every 15 secs. Then I added shredded cheddar, stirred, and it was ready to go! It was great on veggies, and I put the leftovers on whole grain pasta the next day for mac-n-cheese for my kids! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
So what good is a recipe if the ingredient list is correct but the directions are inaccurate? Following the directions the way this was written turned this into a milky "cheesy" soup. Going back through and reading the reviews after the failed attempt made me realize the only thing I did wrong was follow the instructions! If you know how to make cheese sauce then you don't need this recipe, if you don't know how don't follow this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mstanzel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
VERY RUNNY! GOOD FLAVOR, BUT WOULDN'T MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I recomend never fixing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I don't know what I did wrong but the cheese curdled on me. I kept it on low and stirred frequently but to no avail. I am willing to try again if someone can tell me what I did wrong. I used white and sharp cheddar with soy milk instead of regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This sauce turned out to be okay for what I needed--I hadn't bought any cheese soup for a chicken enchilada recipe so I made this. The consistency didn't seem right for serving over vegetables though, I would try a different recipe for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Easy and quick. Didn't feel the need for the food colouring so didn't use it. Didn't have any bell peppers either. To give it a bit of taste I added about 1/4 tsp of mustard powder and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This recipe makes a delicious cheese sauce, providing you assemble it the right way! Bring the milk to a boil with 1 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt and pepper (left out the food coloring), then whisk in the milk-corn starch slurry. It will thicken almost immediately. Let it boil for a minute or so, stirring the whole time, then remove it from the heat and stir in the cheese. The sauce has a great consistency and is very tasty. It does have a slight grainy texture, but ANY sauce made with real cheese is like that. We had it over corkscrew pasta and it was like fancy mac and cheese, would be excellent over broccoli or cauliflower. My boyfriend thought it tasted like something you'd get at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I jumped on allrecipes to find a quick, simple cheese sauce to put over the cheese reavioli I was cooking at that moment--and this filled the bill nicely! Yes it is mild, but my kids like it that way! I added a pinch of onion powder and seasoned pepper, and stirred constantly to keep from scorching. Mild but delicious to my 7-year-old twins' tastebuds--and that's good enough for me! Thanks--I love the last minute easy reciped featured here--this one I am sure I will need again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States