Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This is a great start to a cheese sauce...it could use a little more kick to it...so I like to experiment with some extra red pepper flakes and even tabasco sauce. This is a nice sauce to whip up in a hurry especially over steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ames86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
It wasn't bad, but it wasn't like your typical nacho sauce. I wound up using pepper jack instead of cheddar so it had a little more spicyness to it. I added some chipotle powder too. I also heated the 1st measure of milk and cornstarch to help it thicken more. It was still really runny. Maybe if I used 1/2 as much milk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This is a great basic recipe for cheese sauce.. it just has the order of adding things a bit backwards... -do the 1/2 cup milk and cornstartch and set it aside. -in a sauce pan bring to a boil 2 cups milk and seasonings. -once the milk boils add the milk/cornstartch mixture. -once everything is mixed together and it thickens (it will thicken alot) THEN ADD YOUR CHEESE -As with most sauces you add the cheese LAST not first!! This turned out creamy and super yummy for me. I poured it over rotini noodles and it was perfect!! -i also used up some heavy whipping cream i had left over from alfredo sauce. So what i did was used the rest of my heavy whipping cream with milk (just mixed it all together)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura McGee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I wasn't a fan of this recipe but I made several changes to fit the ingredients I had on hand. I used shredded sharp cheddar cheese and a dash of cayenne pepper in place of red. I hardly added any salt, but it was too salty for me. The flavor was good except for that. I didn't have problems with thickness but had to add extra cornstarch. The trick with cornstarch is to mix well with cold water before adding as a thickener, and heat may be increased to aid in thickening. Otherwise, the cheese must be heated slowly and actually takes patience and a lot of stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I didn't use the seasonings as my kids can be picky about that type of thing. They LOVED it!! Definitively going to keep this one marked to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I thought I did ok making my first cheese sauce, and then when I tried it, it was grainy. I was disappointed. In all fairness, it could very well have been me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is a very good cheese sauce, I didn't add the sherry (I didn't have any). And I added a dash of nutmeg. It was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I've been looking for a good thick delicious cheese sauce and I'm sorry but this isn't the one. I tried sooooooo many times and wasted soooo much cheese, milk ,and cornstarch and still couldn't figure out how to get it to thicken. It had a very delicious flavor to it but not thick. Even with all the suggestions I don't think I will try this recipe again. Maybe it has something to do with using cheddar cheese instead?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I thought this was great! And so easy...especially since I made it in the microwave! I heated up the milk mixture for about 2 minutes (stirred halfway through), then added the milk/cornstarch mixture and microed again for about 2 minutes...stirring every 15 secs. Then I added shredded cheddar, stirred, and it was ready to go! It was great on veggies, and I put the leftovers on whole grain pasta the next day for mac-n-cheese for my kids! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
So what good is a recipe if the ingredient list is correct but the directions are inaccurate? Following the directions the way this was written turned this into a milky "cheesy" soup. Going back through and reading the reviews after the failed attempt made me realize the only thing I did wrong was follow the instructions! If you know how to make cheese sauce then you don't need this recipe, if you don't know how don't follow this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mstanzel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States