Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Nope, did not turn out for me either. I'm wondering if it could be the type of cheese used, or even milk. I always use skim milk, but mayb whole or 2% would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly
Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wyoming, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I have been looking for a quick & easy cheese sauce to help tempt my little ones to eat their veggies. This did the trick! I used medium sharp cheddar with great results. note: I followed the advice of other reviewers and added the cheese LAST. I boiled milk with spices & then added the cornstarch (mixed with a small amnt of milk to make paste) once thickened up, then I added the cheese. (I may have used a bit extra - we love cheese!) YUM! it was super creamy & delicious ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDoodle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I omit the food coloring, but otherwise LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smithchelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was good and easy. I used it to make cheesy broccoli and rice. Good stuff! I'm giving it 4 stars because next time I am going to add more cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pepperk2

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This cheese sauce has quite a grainy texture, if you were wanting to put noodles or some sort of pasta into the sauce, it would be somewhat usable. To make a better effect on the thickness of the sauce I suggest putting flour into the mixture towards the end of making the recipe. I tried putting more corn starch in as I was preparing the sauce and I noticed that the texture began to get lumpy. I definitely would not recommend this cheese sauce recipe to anyone, unless you are going to put it into another recipe; with noodles or mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Followed the recipe (and I do cook quite a bit) EXACTLY. Inedible. A waste of milk and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Followed directions to a tee... very disappointed. Not smooth and too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil Penny
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was great, nice and thick and cheesy! I used jarred minced garlic instead of garlic powder and added more cheese. I have been trying to make a sauce like this forever and it always turns out runny or really lumpy and grainy. I think it is the cornstarch that makes the difference instead of flour. This one was a little grainy, however after adding it to the elbow noodles it was not noticeable. My kids and the ones I watch loved it and went back for thirds. I am going to use this recipe from know on, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
maybe just because it was my first attempt, but this came out thin and we didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This is a great start to a cheese sauce...it could use a little more kick to it...so I like to experiment with some extra red pepper flakes and even tabasco sauce. This is a nice sauce to whip up in a hurry especially over steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ames86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States