Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This recipe worked for me! I actually used cheddar, and took a suggestion from one of the reviewers and added a bit of lemon juice to hinder clumping. I also added a bit more spice--more salt and more red pepper. Otherwise, it worked wonderfully and tasted great over Radiatoirre pasta, and I'm sure it would taste great over veggies or nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOCONNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Made this to go over macaroni. Flavor was decent but the recipe itself needs some tweaking. Like several others have said, the milk needs to be heated to boiling for the cornstarch to do it's thing. I also agree with several others that it needs more cheese and/or less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
this will do in a pinch but it wont become a regular over here. i didnt add the food coloring it just seemed wrong. that said they ate all their veggies tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Terrible...the sauce curdled and I was very careful to maintain a low flame and to stir very slowly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
my son and I tried this...we had a craving for mac n cheese =). I had to use evap milk+ H2O, because I was out of milk. I didn't measure the cheese, but I did use a variety mix (sharp ched, parm, colby, "mexican blend")..the texture wasnt velvety smooth..but it worked. we adjusted the flavor by adding seasonings and different cheeses. this is a good basic recipe to experiment with..worked for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
love this on mac and cheese X3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willow_Nyx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This recipe was really good over veggies but NOT over tortilla chips. I added all ingredients together then *slowly* melted cheese, then I increased heat just a bit till corn starch had a chance to thicken. I did use about 1/2 cup more cheese just because I used skim milk. And I did add about 1/2 teaspoon of paprika and instead of garlic salt used garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
No stars for this one; it curdled, looked bad and didn't have much "cheese" flavor although I used twice the cheese called for:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I made this sauce for dinner last night and was very pleased. It's the first time I've made a cheese sauce before and I was glad it came out. it was very tasty. I did not bother to add the food dye since it looked fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Super easy and delicious! Food coloring unnecessary though. I also added a little cayenne for some spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States