Cheese Sauce for Broccoli and Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I wanted to cut back on the carbs so I used coconut flour for the flour and cream for the milk. I used a block, white cheddar with a strong flavor and cut it into small cubes. It whisked together perfectly. I will use this again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Delicious! Was looking to make broccoli more appealing and came across this. I used corn starch for flour and organic half and half for milk. I also added some minced garlic and onion powder. I used shredded cheddar cheese and it worked out perfectly, no need to use block cheese as others have suggested. Sauce was smooth with no lumps. The key is the temperature through the steps of the recipe - not block cheese versus pre shredded in the bag. Make sure to turn temperature down when cheese is added and stir continuously. Good, basic recipe that everyone should know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Look no further! This is the only vegetable cheese sauce you'll ever need. Keep in mind, the quality of the cheese you use (I used Cabot) will effect the taste and texture of this recipe. I too learned this in home-ec, back in the 60's. It's one of those basic recipes you can change up by adding garlic salt, Worcestershire sauce, mustard or even a bit of Velveeta. Your recipe went into my hardcopy cookbook that I'll be handing down to my DIL. Thank you for posting Samantha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I will definitely be using this again. Made a small substitution - cornstarch for flour - and used 1% lactose-free milk, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
4/15: matthew likes this cheese sauce with pasta wihtout baking it. it makes alot though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I was a bit sceptical, but it turned out AWESOME!!! I used it for broccoli, I can see using this on other veggies, like asparagus etc... too! Very good! If the sauce doesn't thicken, just keep stirring and be patient! It will thicken up and turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life is Good

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This is a perfect recipe for white sauce with cheese added for a delicious result. As I am reducing dairy intake, I use mostly almond or coconut milk with a few shakes of hot sauce or Worcestershire sauce for extra brightness, and a little finely chopped parsley to pour over fish or vegetables. It's all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
So good!!! I add garlic to the butter and mustard after adding the milk. Really addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
wild rice is nice, too. more important - don't use processed cheese.. ever. 2 tablespoons butter, melted in pan. add two tablespoons flour, whisk to create rue. slowly add one cup of milk. let thicken, be careful not to scald the milk. add a cup and a half of your choice of shredded cheese, melt and mix until smooth. end story. :) I am sure that there are recipes on here that would describe something similar for homemade cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rollette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Turned out great! Enjoyed this cheese sauce over broccoli. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States