Cheese Sauce for Broccoli and Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Just made this as described. It was ridiculously easy and ridiculously delicious. Do note that if you use unsalted butter, you will need to add extra salt at the end. Next time I'm planning to add some dry mustard and/or white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Excellent! I needed a cheese sauce for my baked potatoes with broccoli and I added some chives, garlic powder and celery salt. The sauce turned out perfect. I did learn from a previous failed incident that you need to melt the cheese very slowly over low heat otherwise it will separate and you will have a gunky mess. This time came out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Perfectly delicious simple sauce! Made it just as directed and it turned out fantastic. My kids couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samplfamily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shantelle
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Excellent. I whisked constantly, the end result was smooth. It was super easy and best of all tasty. Recipe saved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Wonderful sauce! I usually follow directions to the letter the first time I make a recipe and I did so with this one and it was wonderful. Today I made it again to go with my Broccoli Cheese Crepes and added minced garlic to the butter while it was melting. I also used extra sharp cheddar this time as one reviewer suggested and it is beyond good. Now it's the only cheese sauce recipe I have in my cookbook as it has so many variations that you can do with it. Blue cheese, Swiss cheese, so many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Absolutely delicious cheese sauce instead of shredded cheddar I used velveta cause I couldn't find my hand shredder. Came out perfect and smooth. I did change it from 2 cups milk to one cup heavy cream and 1 cup milk was heaven. My honey and son put it even on their pork chops...lol -wakswpnthr41
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I used to make it this exact way all the time. Tonight I tried it a little bit different so it wouldn't be as THICK. I used 2 teaspoons of corn starch then mixed it as usual. Then after putting the milk in I mixed 1 tablespoon of flour with milk (a roux). It came out creamy and smooth. I even used 3 slices of cheap american cheese and it was still delicious. Oh and salt in pepper of coarse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Worked so great! Also didn't get super thick as it cooled like a lot of cornstarch based sauces do! Will use ever-after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna Groen
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Perfect sauce! Texture and flavor were spot on. I have been looking for a good consistency and flavor recipe. I can't wait to try it with different cheeses. I halved it for the two of us and had just enough left over for the dog to have a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Dickson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trev v
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Great easy foolproof recipe, I added some English mustard to give it a little bit of a kick and cut down on the salt. This also works if you just put all the ingredients in and just whisk as it heats up before you add the cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States