Cheese Sauce for Broccoli and Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Perfect and simple. Always a hit at my dinner table! I even used it once as a homemade macaroni & cheese sauce and it was delicious, will make again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
My sauce broke. I'll try it again, but even if it comes out right, it was still just so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I tried adding hot mustard, turmeric, and cumin, with SHARP cheddar. Yum. Forget the broccoli or cauliflower. Eat it straight out of the pan! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I doubled the cheese cause I love cheese! So quick and easy, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynn Drake
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Such A Great Easy Recipe. I Added Adobo, Garlic Powder, And Lawry's Seasoned Salt. I Added More Milk To Make It Creamier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
It made a super creamy cheese sauce and it was easy too. Unfortunately, I overcooked my broccoli but other than that I pour it over the broccoli and put a touch of breadcrumbs on it and baked it in the oven for 1/2 hour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I've made it several times, sometimes adding other cheeses as well. It always turns out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Nogle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is the cheese sauce I learned to make in Home Ec. class years ago. Once you learn how to make the white sauce, you can add many things to it for home cooking. Some things I've learned over the years: 1. you need to cook the flour and butter for a bit so the sauce doesn't have a raw flour taste 2. you have to keep the heat very low, or turn it off, when you add the shredded cheese or it will clump up and separate; once the cheese has been added, do not use high heat 3.you need to shred your cheese from a block of cheese, anything that is pre-shredded has added flour to keep the shredded cheese separate. It will make your cheese sauce gritty. I add different things to the basic sauce to give it different flavors - garlic when melting the butter, or Worcestershire sauce for more flavor, sometimes different mustards. This is good on any vegetable or potato. By changing the type of cheese, you get many different sauces. Great recipe! Thanks Samantha for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I grated the cheese myself and I used a good cheese but it separated slightly and didn't have enough of a cheese taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Just made this as described. It was ridiculously easy and ridiculously delicious. Do note that if you use unsalted butter, you will need to add extra salt at the end. Next time I'm planning to add some dry mustard and/or white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States