Cheese Sauce for Broccoli and Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lynn Drake
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Such A Great Easy Recipe. I Added Adobo, Garlic Powder, And Lawry's Seasoned Salt. I Added More Milk To Make It Creamier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
It made a super creamy cheese sauce and it was easy too. Unfortunately, I overcooked my broccoli but other than that I pour it over the broccoli and put a touch of breadcrumbs on it and baked it in the oven for 1/2 hour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I've made it several times, sometimes adding other cheeses as well. It always turns out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Nogle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is the cheese sauce I learned to make in Home Ec. class years ago. Once you learn how to make the white sauce, you can add many things to it for home cooking. Some things I've learned over the years: 1. you need to cook the flour and butter for a bit so the sauce doesn't have a raw flour taste 2. you have to keep the heat very low, or turn it off, when you add the shredded cheese or it will clump up and separate; once the cheese has been added, do not use high heat 3.you need to shred your cheese from a block of cheese, anything that is pre-shredded has added flour to keep the shredded cheese separate. It will make your cheese sauce gritty. I add different things to the basic sauce to give it different flavors - garlic when melting the butter, or Worcestershire sauce for more flavor, sometimes different mustards. This is good on any vegetable or potato. By changing the type of cheese, you get many different sauces. Great recipe! Thanks Samantha for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I grated the cheese myself and I used a good cheese but it separated slightly and didn't have enough of a cheese taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Just made this as described. It was ridiculously easy and ridiculously delicious. Do note that if you use unsalted butter, you will need to add extra salt at the end. Next time I'm planning to add some dry mustard and/or white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Excellent! I needed a cheese sauce for my baked potatoes with broccoli and I added some chives, garlic powder and celery salt. The sauce turned out perfect. I did learn from a previous failed incident that you need to melt the cheese very slowly over low heat otherwise it will separate and you will have a gunky mess. This time came out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Perfectly delicious simple sauce! Made it just as directed and it turned out fantastic. My kids couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samplfamily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shantelle
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Excellent. I whisked constantly, the end result was smooth. It was super easy and best of all tasty. Recipe saved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Wonderful sauce! I usually follow directions to the letter the first time I make a recipe and I did so with this one and it was wonderful. Today I made it again to go with my Broccoli Cheese Crepes and added minced garlic to the butter while it was melting. I also used extra sharp cheddar this time as one reviewer suggested and it is beyond good. Now it's the only cheese sauce recipe I have in my cookbook as it has so many variations that you can do with it. Blue cheese, Swiss cheese, so many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States