Cheese Rosti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
This dish tastes so good, it's almost illegal! I did the potatoes in the microwave after peeling them -- 3 large at 5 minutes high (I scaled down) and then put them in cold water to cool. I didn't have Swiss cheese so I used mozerella and it turned out divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
Imagine really cheesy, slightly crispy, and a little lumpy mashed potatoes and you have this recipe. It was so good. I didn't make any adjustments and my husband, daughter and I loved this. In fact, we were fighting over who got the crispy parts (they are the best). When it was time to turn the potatoes I flipped mine over onto a plate and then slid back into the pan. They turned out beautifully. Because I only let my potatoes cool long enough that I could touch them I really didn't need to cook them very long. I basically left them in the frying pan long enough to get a crispy crust and the cheese to melt. I have to say these are a do again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Very good but kinda messy to make...esspecially when trying to "crisp" the other side (tried sliding it onto a plate so that I may easier invert it back into the pan but some of it stuck and got clumpy). I used a combo of Swiss and cheddar cheese. The appearance was the only minor detraction - still very good! Thanks Bob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
Although we all thought this was good, I didn't think it was worth the effort being that you can basically do the same thing with leftover mashed potatoes. I seasoned the dish quite a bit more than called for and also added chopped onion and green peppers. Definitely good advice to flip this onto a plate rather than trying to turn it in the pan. To make turning a little easier,I think I'll make individual sevings the next time I serve this dish. Thanks Bob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
I made this recipe for my husband & I & he loved it. He normally don't ask or perfer leftovers but he actually wanted the leftovers from this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Very good recipe. Makes me wish I had a food processor though as grating the cheese and potatoes by hand really gave me a workout. :) I can see where the dish might benefit from some added onions or other spices to liven up the potatoes, but overall, it was an excellent side dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
My husband loved this, but I didn't think it was that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Made these as little appetizers on my griddle adding garlic powder and green onion to the potatoes. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I see that a lot of others complained about boiling, cooling and shredding potatoes. I used the Simply Shredded hash browns from the frigerator section. Worked perfect!! Before flipping, I cut into sections for easy flipping and serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Although my husband liked this alot, I thought it was too greasy, cheesy and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States