Cheese Ring Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is definitely a hit! I make sure I tell everyone they have to try it with the jelly before knocking it(I use a 4 fruit preserve). I also use half sharp and half regular chedder. I don't have cayenne, so I use a little chili powder and couple dashes of crushed red pepper. I use a little more mayo then it calls for, just to make it stick together better, and I use a Pam sprayed bundt pan, don't have a jello mold.I have made it for 4 gatherings and it is always the talk of the night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I loved this recipe, I made it for my book club and everyone looked at it a bit funny, but once tasted, everyone dug right in!!... I did use strawberry jelly instead of raspberry, that I processed to get out the big chunks of strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRATTYBLUEEYES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I used half sharp and half mild cheddars, spread strawberry preserves all over the ring and served it with Triscuits and Ritz crackers. Everyone was so surprised how delicious the cheese/jelly combination was, they couldn't stop eating it - not a drop was left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I've made this recipe a few times now and think it's great! I did make the following adjustments: Add 1 block of cream cheese (I whip a room temperature block in the bowl prior to adding any other ingredients), in addition to cayenne and garlic salt, I also added onion powder, paprika and garlic powder (about 1/2 tsp of each. I mix the seasoning into the cream cheese before adding the remaining ingredients). I use a combination of sharp and mild cheddar cheeses (50/50 of each) and I make this dip the night before to allow the flavors to blend. I also recommend using a 8" springform pan (lined and sprayed with butter flavored Pam) instead of the jello ring. Once the dip is turned out on a plate, top with raspberry preserves, chopped pecans and fresh raspberries. It tastes great and looks fantastic! By using a springform pan, you can get the dip and preserves in each bit...which is really yummy. This is very simple to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Good recipe but I tweaked it. I used the whole green onion and instead of the jelly recommended, I used red pepper jelly and brushed it on the outside and filled the center with it. It gave it a nice Christmasy look with the red and green together and it tasted divine. Used it for a small gathering of just five friends and we ate almost the whole thing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollandale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
BUT...I like to put slithered almonds, bacon bits and the green part of the onions - it really tastes great. The green onions with the red strawberry jam - make it look very festive!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margie
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Made this for a Red Hat party today. Everyone loved it. I used 1 1/2 teaspoon dried minced onion since I did not have any green onions on hand. Also added some chopped pecans. I know I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
YUMMO!!! I didn't put in ANY pepper and it was so delish! Easy, easy, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I really liked this. I would never have thought to put rasperry preserves with cheese, and I have never made a cheese ball of any kind. I did put nuts on the outside before the preserves. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Very delicious appetizer. I brought it to work an hour ago and have already given the recipe away twice. I added a package of cream cheese, used a couple shakes each of cayenne and garlic powder and molded into a ball, which I rolled in chopped pecans and covered with seedless raspberry jam. I think strawberry jam may go better with this dish, but that's me. I also think this is much better on Ritz type crackers than Wheat Thins. Looks very fancy with minimal work and tastes fabulous! Update: I have since made this ball with red plum jam and I think it to be MUCH better than the raspberry and you can usually find a generic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States