Cheese Ravioli with Fresh Tomato and Artichoke Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This was a really good dinner. My husband and Father-in-Law loved the sauce! I used two cans Italian style, diced and peeled tomatoes (undrained) in place of the Romas, and two jars of artichoke hearts because we love them. I also added the liquid from both jars, but next time I will drain the second jar into the sink -- the sauce was just a little too "marinade-y". I used slightly more garlic than called for, but other than that exactly as written. Served over fresh cheese ravioli with sourdough bread on the side --- WONDERFUL!!! And oh so simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Half Moon Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
One of my favorite quick lunches with friends. I use canned Italian tomatoes with basil and four cheese ravioli. And the oil at the end is essential for keeping the pasta from sticking together. I also saute the garlic in the oil for about a minute before I add the other ingredients. I don't add the marinade from the artichokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
Great recipe for weekday dinners. Quick and easy to make, yet elegant to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2000
This was a nice change for ravioli and it was quick and easy, but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I found this recipe a few years ago and everyone in my family still loves it! In the winter we use canned diced tomatoes (and sometimes in the summer when we don't have the time to peel fresh ones). Sometimes the jars of artichoke hearts have really large pieces, so I always chop them up before adding them. Quick and easy, and SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
We enjoyed this very much but I altered it just slightly. I used one 25 oz. bag of ravioli. I used 4 Roma tomatoes, but didn't bother to seed them, and one can of Italian-style diced tomatoes. I also used 1 whole can of artichoke hearts, sliced up, and used all the juice. I used 4 cloves of fresh garlic, instead of 3. I also added some Italian seasoning and let it all cook down for about 10 - 12 mins., then mixed it with the ravioli. My husband also used some of the sauce on top of some cheesy garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
MMM so good! I used only one package of ravioli (Light cheese) but the full amount of sauce. I also cut back on the salt, and added sliced black olives, as well as fresh basil (about 2 Tbsps). This was delicious! Perfect amount of sauce for 9 ounces of ravioli. I know that a bunch of other reviewers said that something was missing... try the fresh basil! And if you are using parmesan cheese from a can, dump it out. There is no replacement for fresh parmesan (I spend the extra money for Reggiano Parmesan... it's the BEST and makes such a difference in recipes). Also, the recipe calls for FRESH tomatoes. There is a time and place for canned tomatoes, and this recipe is not the time, nor the place. Quality ingredients are needed to make this dish. Took me a half an hour from start to finish. Thank you for this one, Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This is my husband's second favorite meal - we make it quite often! The first time I made it, it did seem bland so I added premade pesto (Safeway Verdi brand works best) to the tomato sauce for an extra zing ~ absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Three stars for being quick, easy, and filling! I needed to get dinner ready fast and this worked well. It wasn't knock your socks off wonderful though. It also made a lot, even though I only used one package of pasta (I used fresh cheese tortelini).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I served this sauce over cheese and proscuitto filled ravioli along with fresh asparagus and a salad. I appreciate the fact that it was not time consuming (considereing I started dinner a little later that usual) and it had a pretty good flavor. I didn't have any green onions so I subbed some parsley and Italian seasonings. I did add a bit of sugar because it was really tangy. I didn't peel or seed my tomatoes....(didn't realize I was supposed to until I read the recipe again and had already chopped most of them up). Don't know if I'll make this again or not, but I am glad I gave it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States