Cheese Puffs (Gougeres) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My batch puffed up fine. I thought the taste was a little eggy *like cream puffs* All in all pretty good alternative to making buscuits when wanting a lighter more airy texture but the same taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
These didn't puff up and look as nice as I expected. The taste was ok, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inskydiamonds
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I used pepper jack cheese instead of the Gruyere cheese to make them kind of spicy. I thought the recipe was easy to follow and made delicious puffs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inskydiamonds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This recipe turned out great but I was wondering if you could let these turn cold then reheat them because my daughter has to do a project on french cuisine and I haped that she could bring them to school and then reheat them in the oven there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
These came out great! The recipe -- which is really justcream puffs with cheese added -- is foolproof if you follow it correctly. Make sure the oven is hot enough, and make sure you beat each egg in completely before you add the next. You can't rush things, or you get cookies, like another reviewer said. I made mine a little smaller than ping-pong balls, poked a hole in each, and piped in fillings: crab salad, bacon-cheese dip, and Borsin cheese spread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I agree with both of the other reviewers... Mine didn't puff very much but they taste great anyway. They make great sandwiches with leftover Christmas ham. I suspect that I didn't cook the mixture long enough or something... but it came out more of a thick batter than dough. They do taste good, though. I may try this again, just to see if I get the same result. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msmarieann
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipe really worked well. I read the one review ahead of me who said they turned into cookies, and I have to admit that mine didn't do that. The only thing that was confusing was the matter of the eggs. You're going to separate and reserve 1 egg. The egg yolk you will mix with 2 Tablespoons of milk to make the glaze, and the white you're going to beat into the mix. When you incorporate the eggs, do so one at a time. Ensure that you mix them all very well after each addition. When I piped them out, I just used a Ziploc bag that I cut a 1/2 inch tip off one corner then piped them out. Don't flatten them, make nice little mounds. I also added a pinch of baking powder just to ensure they puffed up. It works everytime. I'm too much of a puss not to do that! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmarieann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I don't know the problem, but I got cookies, not puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States