Cheese Puffs (Gougeres) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Thank you so much for this recipe, your a life saver, really needed this for my high school foods class :D. thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Great recipe and especially yummy with the diced pepperoni! One thing I did different was use mini muffin pans instead of cookie sheets - this resolved the issue one of the other posters had with them flattening out like cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diannapop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I was a bit reluctant on this one because it's a lot of work and some reviewers found it disappointing. I made it as written when I had neighbours coming over, and a huge success. Puffed up beautifully, very tasty. I might try sharper cheese and maybe a sprinkle of bacon bits or diced ham, but in the meantime, I recommend the recipe highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
These were amazing!!! I used half of the chill and cayenne powders that the original recipe called for and it was just wonderful. I do highly recommend some kind of non-stick surface to bake on, otherwise they can get pretty stuck on the baking sheet (though they didn't taste any different).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Not impressed, unfortunately. I did drop by teaspoon and it created cookies, but the flavor just did not impress me. Maybe the mixture of the spices and the gruyere? I may try again in the future, but change up the spices (too much thyme in my opinion) and maybe change the cheese as well. Thanks for the recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Excellent Recipe. They are a big hit. I followed recipe and they came out fine. I added Salmon filling and they were very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
With puffs like this you have to watch the weather. If it is rainy and cloudy they will not always puff. I used the pepper cheese and my husband loved them. Dropped them from a pastry tube, and they puffed fine. I am going to play with this with some other cheeses and let you all know how they turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This recipe is good - no doubt. But I made a 2nd version using already bought flaky biscuit dough and just adding the cheese and herbs/spices and then followed baking directions. What a time saver! Sandra Lee - whatch out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
super super super super super
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I doubled the recipe, following the recipe exactly, but did not use leftover egg yolk for puff tops. Dropping dough by teaspoons made the "puffs" flat. Next batch I used a ziploc bag, snipped the corner, and piped the dough out in small drops; baked one sheet at a time. This was successful, but it did take a long time. I liked them, but my daughter's class thought they were a bit spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States