Cheese Onion Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
This is a terrific garlic bread recipe! I've been making garlic bread for years with our pasta dinners for my husband and I, but left the bread plain for the children. They do not usually enjoy garlic bread but LOVED this one. Just a few changes: Used half the amount of butter, added olive oil for the remainder, eliminated onion (not a favorite of the kids), crushed whole cloves of garlic and sauteed them until golden, then removed them. Oil/butter flavored nicely. (I put the garlic on my bread later, yuuummmm! Just don't stand too close!) Had Monterey Jack in the fridge instead of Mozzarella, worked very well. The cheese/mayo topping really makes this bread extra special. Way to go, Holly! - - - Virginia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I am updating my rating and review to 5 stars. I just got back from a potluck. I brought the bread over all assembled except not broiled or cut. I used my neighbors over to broil and cut up the pieces of bread. I doubled the recipe and there was not a SINGLE piece of bread left! All our friends were raving about this bread. The only change I made was that I caramelized the onions, cooked for about 45 minutes and then I added the garlic for 4-5 minutes at the end. Let the mixture cool and then spread it on the bread and topped with the cheese/mayo mixture. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I'v emade this several times, and it's always been a big hit. I modify the recipe this way: I make it without the onion; I decrease the mayonnaise to 2/3 cup. I increase the parmesan chees to 2/3 cup (and sometimes I use a romano/parmesan blend).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
This was excellent! I used Italian bread and it worked very well. I was out of mayo (which is a sin in this house), but it still tasted very good. It was easy to make, but watch it under the broiler. 5 minutes was too much in my oven and it was slightly black, but still yummy - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
I made this using fresh soft baguettes and it turned out wonderfull, this will definately become one of my regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I made this bread to go with chili on Christmas Eve and everyone LOVED it! Thanks so much for sharing the key to this delicious treat Holly! I will make this again and again. Yummy! Colleen - Minnesota
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
No other word than AWSOME!A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A This was a big hit for everyone. Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
I made a batch to keep in the fridge. I spread on a slice or two of sourdough bread and broil in the toaster-oven for a quick side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
Everyone loved it so much that I had to make a second batch of it to appease the hungry masses. Definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States