Cheese Onion Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Wonderful recipe! Although a tad greasy tasting for me,my family enjoyed t. The second time I made it, I cut the mayo to 2/3cup, and used finely shredded cheddar cheese (3/4c) in place of mozzarella.Thanks Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This was delicious! It's an incredibly easy recipe. I cooked this for my friends at college in a dorm kitchen, so you know it's easy! I increased the ammount of cheese and I followed one reviewer's suggestion to only use 2/3 c. of mayo. The only problem was that there was not enough of the garlic mixture. We are garlic fiends! I would advise doubling that section of the recipe for more garlic deliciousness. I also added some oregano and pepper. For those of you wondering about the mayo, this recipe does not produce mayo-flavored garlic bread. You can only taste the mozzarella and garlic. Once again, a fantabulous recipe and this will be going in my recipe book. 15 college kids give this recipe a 4.0.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oberlin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I had to attend a party at my sisters and she put me in charge of garlic bread. She said, "I am impressed, you pulled it off, this is excellent." There was not one piece of this Cheese Onion Garlic Bread left. Everybody had three and four pieces, they loved it so much. Try it you will love it. And it is easy, ask my husband and son they made it. :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I am updating my rating and review to 5 stars. I just got back from a potluck. I brought the bread over all assembled except not broiled or cut. I used my neighbors over to broil and cut up the pieces of bread. I doubled the recipe and there was not a SINGLE piece of bread left! All our friends were raving about this bread. The only change I made was that I caramelized the onions, cooked for about 45 minutes and then I added the garlic for 4-5 minutes at the end. Let the mixture cool and then spread it on the bread and topped with the cheese/mayo mixture. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This bread is very good but has too much of a mayo taste for us. I will try this again for sure but cut the mayo in half, because the overall taste, again, to us was mainly mayo. The onion/garlic mix that's spread on before the cheese mix is great. I chopped the onion very fine and added crushed garlic to the butter mix and simmered about 5 minutes at medium low heat. Do not brown the onion mixture. The onion and garlic almost dissolved and became a part of the butter once cooled and it really is a wonderful spread. I will use this recipe again , but as written the mayo is very prominent. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
This was excellent! I used Italian bread and it worked very well. I was out of mayo (which is a sin in this house), but it still tasted very good. It was easy to make, but watch it under the broiler. 5 minutes was too much in my oven and it was slightly black, but still yummy - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
This is a terrific garlic bread recipe! I've been making garlic bread for years with our pasta dinners for my husband and I, but left the bread plain for the children. They do not usually enjoy garlic bread but LOVED this one. Just a few changes: Used half the amount of butter, added olive oil for the remainder, eliminated onion (not a favorite of the kids), crushed whole cloves of garlic and sauteed them until golden, then removed them. Oil/butter flavored nicely. (I put the garlic on my bread later, yuuummmm! Just don't stand too close!) Had Monterey Jack in the fridge instead of Mozzarella, worked very well. The cheese/mayo topping really makes this bread extra special. Way to go, Holly! - - - Virginia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I'v emade this several times, and it's always been a big hit. I modify the recipe this way: I make it without the onion; I decrease the mayonnaise to 2/3 cup. I increase the parmesan chees to 2/3 cup (and sometimes I use a romano/parmesan blend).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Good and different garlic bread. I used "garlic butter" also found from this site instead but still followed the mayo/cheese mixture. Very good. Went will with our dinner and everyone thought they were a delicious side worth repeating again! Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This recipe for garlic bread was wonderful. Made it for a family reunion. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrisEpieBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarzana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States