Cheese Onion Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This bread is very good but has too much of a mayo taste for us. I will try this again for sure but cut the mayo in half, because the overall taste, again, to us was mainly mayo. The onion/garlic mix that's spread on before the cheese mix is great. I chopped the onion very fine and added crushed garlic to the butter mix and simmered about 5 minutes at medium low heat. Do not brown the onion mixture. The onion and garlic almost dissolved and became a part of the butter once cooled and it really is a wonderful spread. I will use this recipe again , but as written the mayo is very prominent. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are absolutely wonderful! I made them for a group of friends at a dinner party and they were all gone, and everyone wanted more! I did make a few changes, I'm not a fan of onions so I didn't add them. I also skipped the step about sauteing the garlic and just added it into the mayo/cheese mixture. They turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashjo52

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
All that I could taste was the mayo. I made it with the hopes that my husband and daughter would like it, we love garlic cheese bread and no one would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was amazing! I scaled down the recipe for a sourdough English muffin. The only mozzarella I had on hand was a string cheese stick, and I didn't have any Parmesan (a surprise to me) so I improvised with a slice of provolone cheese and a pinch of salt. I added a smidge more garlic then called for, I can never get enough of it, and only enough mayo to make the cheese into a paste. I also added a bit of paprika and just a dash of chili powder. I spread it out like in the recipe and then dashed a little paprika on top. I popped them in the broiler and they were delicious! My only complaint was that they were really flimsy, so next time I'll toast in in the toaster first. :) Absolutely fantastic recipe though, very adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Very good! I used vidalia onions and really liked the slight sweetness it gave to this bread. I mixed the onion/garlic mixture (once it cooled) in with the rest of the ingredients and just slathered it on the slices of bread and broiled. I was a tad short on the mozzarella, so I added the rest in cheddar. I also reduced the mayo to about 1/2 cup and I thought it was perfect. I will be making this bread again for sure! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was very good. I used the suggestion to split the entire loaf into two pieces and then cut after baking--much faster. Make sure to mince the onion very fine or you it will overpower the bread. I used 1/2 cup Mayo as suggested by many reviewers--just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
So yummy! Luckily my boyfriend and I both love garlic and onions. I didn't add as much mayo as the recipe called for, only enough to make it creamy and spreadable. I added a couple grinds of pepper because I think most dips and spreads taste better with pepper. I cooked the onions in butter and olive oil as another reviewer suggested. The one major change that I made to the recipe was to use roasted garlic instead of sauteeing the garlic with the onion. It was a deceptively simple recipe and so delicious. My bf has insisted that I bring it to the next lunch or dinner we go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This was very flavorful, I would say to not put TOO much mayo and parmesan cheese or it'll get too salty ..I think I overloaded on that a bit but the 2nd time around I didnt put as much of the mayo/parm/cheese topping on it and I added some sauteed tomatoes along with the onions...My boyfriend and I loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I was only making two big pieces - I used 1/2 cup mozza cheddar cheese, 2 T parm (the Kraft kind), 1/4 cup Mayo, about a teaspoon of minced garlic, mixed it all together and put it on the bread which I brushed with oil. Great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
The three people I cooked this for loved it, I didn't care for it, something about the mayonaise flavor on garlic bread kind of made me gag. I thought a "3" but everyone else said "5" so I went in between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States