Cheese Lover's Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
If I hadn't added about a cup or so of milk, this tuna casserole would have been really dry. I sauteed half of an onion, a couple LARGE handfuls of matchstick carrots and garlic in EVOO and butter and added it to the casserole. I also made my own croutons. Good, but again you need to add milk or it's dry. As I made it, there were no leftovers. I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
I changed so much that I probably shouldn't rate this recipe, but it was delicious so I had to. I have made tuna casserole once before from a different recipe, but didn't care for it. When I saw this one, it seemed more suited to my tastes. I used twice as much macaroni, same amount of tuna and cream of mushroom soup, 3/4 lb. Velveeta instead of cheddar put directly into the mixture and topped it with shredded cheddar then put crushed Ritz crackers in butter on top. It was rich and fattening, but so very good. Unlike the recipe I used before, the tuna did not overpower everything else. I loved it and am looking forward to leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
This recipe turned out well with a couple of additions... I added about a 1/4 cup chives chopped finely, a small container sour cream, and two cloves crushed garlic. I mixed those with the cream of mushroom soup. I also added some frozen peas, carrots, and corn. That gave it some nice colors. We really liked the cheesiness and the crunch from the croutons. Thanks for a good recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
Loved this! Threw it together while my daughter was at piano lessons, and it was done when she got home. I added about 1/2-1 teaspoon curry powder and 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder to the tuna mixture, but also cut the shredded cheese in half(8 oz total). Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
Even though I am a cheese lover, this casserole has too much of it. I could have just eaten a block of cheese! Next time I would cut the amount of cheese in half, grate it instead of cubing, and bake it in a 8x8 dish. 9x13 is too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
I am a beginner cook, and was THRILLED with this recipe! Not only was it simple to make, everyone I shared it with had seconds, thirds, FOURTHS!! I changed a few things though. I only used half the amt. of cheese that the original called for and I used cream of chicken soup (added half a can of milk), and a can of french fried onions for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
This is a great recipes that is very filling. I love cheese so I left in the one pound but have found it easier to work with when it is shredded (more convienent to as you can buy cheese already shredded). I also tend to cut back a bit on the croutons on the top as they add quite a bit of salt (and salty taste) to the recipe. I don't make it a lot because it is rather fattening but when I do my husband goes nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was a descent recipe. I had to increase the amount of macaroni, It did not seem like enough. I cut the cheese in half and used french fried onions instead of croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie in training

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
like other reviewers, I reduced the cheese to one cup, and I also used crumbled ritz crackers, rather than crutons. Overall, it tastes good and is very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I had always resisted making tuna casserole, I didn't want to be so suburban! But one night all I had for protein in the house was tuna, so I gave this a try, and I am so glad I did! Very good, not too fishy! I did cut the cheese in half, which still made a wonderful cheesy dish! This will be a standard in our home from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States