Cheese Lovers' Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This is a reply to a reviewer below. To keep your lasagne from becoming watery, drain the noodles very well and blot them dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This recipe is so simple and easy to make. My husband and I loved it! I suggest adding ground beef with the sauce to make it more meatier, otherwise I followed the rest of the direction. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Waipio, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
Very good, but it turned out watery. Could it be because I used fat free cottage cheese? Any suggestions would be appreciated, because I really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I did a few things differently. I couldn't bring myself to use American cheese, and I made a mixture of 1/2 ricotta and 1/2 cottage cheese. I also added some ground beef, otherwise I didn't think it would have enough taste. Rating is because I changed so many things. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This was yummy, ooey, and gooey. I made a couple of modifications: I used ricotta, not cottage cheese, and just dumped a few dollops here and there. I left out the American cheese entirely... it's already such a cheesy dish that you won't even miss it. I sprinkled some bottled parm on the top, which fine as a substitute for the fresh. I didn't use meat-flavored sauce, but I threw in some soy crumbled beef substitute to make it a vegetarian dish without seeming like a vegetarian dish! Also, the composition turned out better in the metal baking pan I used than in the ceramic casserole dish. Not sure why, but it was less watery in the metal pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEIOUSEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This was great. My son (who is a very picky eater) loves this lasagna. I only made a few changes, I didn't have any spaghetti sauce with meat in it, so I used regular sauce and added meat (1 lb. ground turkey). I also used more of the shredded cheeses than the recipe called for. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JINKIESSCOOBY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
There should be a law against using cottage cheese in lasagna. I made this last fall and it was really good... with ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
this lasagna was the best i have ever had... we will prob have this lasagna at lest once a week. im actually making it tonight for dinner. i had got a recipe for a different lasagna on another website and will prob never make it again. this recipe is so worth making... oh i also use a 5 cheese speg sauce instead of a meat sauce... and i use ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese i just couldn't bring my self to use cottage cheese....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This was awesome! Everyone loved it. I did alter it just a little. I mixed the ricotta cheese, italian spices, and eggs together and let it sit in the refrigerator to marinate for at least 2 hours. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Wonderful dish. I replaced the American cheese with Provolone and the Cottage Cheese with Ricotta and it turned out wonderfully. I even added some zucchini on the first layer to sneak it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States