Cheese Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Could be cheesier...but it was tasty and a good texture. I ended up adding a little bit of cheddar to it, but should have added more! I didn't have marjarom so skipped that, but added a little bit of dried minced onions...just cause it sounded good at the time. The only other adjustment I made was using a tiny bit less yeast, since several reviewers said it rose too much in their bread machines. Mine was just right! I'll use this recipe again and play around with the flavors a bit to see what else works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Tasted great, soft and chewy texture but I didn't taste any parmesan. Planning to change the cheese to something else instead. Changes I made: increased parmesan to around 5 tablespoons; used vegetable oil instead of butter; switched herbs to 1 teaspoon each of Italian seasoning, basil, oregano, thyme, rosemary; and reduced yeast to 1 1/2 teaspoons. 1 tablespoon of yeast is too much for a bread machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Sy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Delicious bread!! I made a double recipe (using the kitchen aid mixer) and baked it in casserole dishes for round and crusty loaves. Made it for supper last night and used the leftovers for egg sandwiches this morn! So good! There is only one piece left, and I when I was mixing up more this morning, I realized that last night I had put in double the amount of butter that was called for, but it turned out beautiful anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Excellent bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Reviewers warned that it rises a great deal (one tablespoon yeast -yikes), so I used the dough cycle and made three mini loaves. They still puffed up large! Baked at 375 for 35 minutes. Yummy. Went perfect with the pot roast dinner. For more chessy taste, try using freshly grated parmesan in recipe then sprinkle with cheese last 10 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Felix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Really good. I added minced up dried tomatoes. Made in the breadmaker and the top did cave it. But it was really good, so we didn't care. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VikkiTryingToCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I tried this recipe a number of times in my bread machine. My first time was a catastrophe--the bread looked like it was going to be wonderful--nice a full and plump. But then just as it started baking, it fell,... and fell... and fell. I was embarrassed to serve it. I thought no one would believe how much it fell, so I measured--it was nearly 2 inches down in the center from the sides. After reading about troubleshooting, I tried, instead of 1tbsp of yeast (as the recipe says), using 1 tsp (1/3 as much) yeast. (I always use Fleishmann's Rapid Rise yeast). This worked very well. It did shrivel a little during baking, but no collapse at all. Just to be sure that this wasn't coincidental I made a THIRD loaf, but again using 1 tbsp yeast. Collapsed catastropically again! So for sure 1 tbsp of Rapid Rise is way too much. Why did this recipe work so well for so many other people? My suspicion is that most people either used Active Dry (rather than Rapid Rise) or else they didn't use the full 1 tbsp that the recipe specifies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This bread is SO good! The only thing I did differently was add the herbs to taste, which is what I always do with every recipe, but I only added the herbs listed here. It was fantastic! My family ate the whole loaf at dinner and asked me to make another loaf the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
4 stars for flavor - not 5, because mine fell, too! I read all the conflicting reviews, so decided to try it as written (since so many had excellent results). I'm not one of them - mine is 1/2 the height it should be, and very dense. But my parrot & I are really enjoying the flavor - on our 2nd pieces now! I will try again...No loaf will ever go to waste, it can always be made into croutons or crumbs ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Delicious. Used fresh herbs and buttermilk powder. Also added more cheese. Caved in a little but was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States