Cheese Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Excellent bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Reviewers warned that it rises a great deal (one tablespoon yeast -yikes), so I used the dough cycle and made three mini loaves. They still puffed up large! Baked at 375 for 35 minutes. Yummy. Went perfect with the pot roast dinner. For more chessy taste, try using freshly grated parmesan in recipe then sprinkle with cheese last 10 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Felix

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Really good. I added minced up dried tomatoes. Made in the breadmaker and the top did cave it. But it was really good, so we didn't care. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VikkiTryingToCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I tried this recipe a number of times in my bread machine. My first time was a catastrophe--the bread looked like it was going to be wonderful--nice a full and plump. But then just as it started baking, it fell,... and fell... and fell. I was embarrassed to serve it. I thought no one would believe how much it fell, so I measured--it was nearly 2 inches down in the center from the sides. After reading about troubleshooting, I tried, instead of 1tbsp of yeast (as the recipe says), using 1 tsp (1/3 as much) yeast. (I always use Fleishmann's Rapid Rise yeast). This worked very well. It did shrivel a little during baking, but no collapse at all. Just to be sure that this wasn't coincidental I made a THIRD loaf, but again using 1 tbsp yeast. Collapsed catastropically again! So for sure 1 tbsp of Rapid Rise is way too much. Why did this recipe work so well for so many other people? My suspicion is that most people either used Active Dry (rather than Rapid Rise) or else they didn't use the full 1 tbsp that the recipe specifies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This bread is SO good! The only thing I did differently was add the herbs to taste, which is what I always do with every recipe, but I only added the herbs listed here. It was fantastic! My family ate the whole loaf at dinner and asked me to make another loaf the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
4 stars for flavor - not 5, because mine fell, too! I read all the conflicting reviews, so decided to try it as written (since so many had excellent results). I'm not one of them - mine is 1/2 the height it should be, and very dense. But my parrot & I are really enjoying the flavor - on our 2nd pieces now! I will try again...No loaf will ever go to waste, it can always be made into croutons or crumbs ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Delicious. Used fresh herbs and buttermilk powder. Also added more cheese. Caved in a little but was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Possibly the best bread I've ever made; I know it's my husband's favorite! I like that this recipe leaves a lot of wiggle room to experiment with different herbs, garlic, and other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This bread is fantastic! My husband loves it; I don't know how many times he has requested it. We serve it with olive oil dipping sauce... better than any Italian restaurant. You might want to cut back on the yeast slightly. When I follow the measurements exactly, the bread over-rises about 80% of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puppy Momma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
We really enjoyed this recipe. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States