Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
My husband does not like grits. I made it for 2 so I could try it, and he loved it and wanted more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
The idea of Velveeta would make a very bland dish. Instead, add smoked Gouda or a sharp cheddar with lots of garlic. As a southerner, this is a dish served often. We so miss Kraft's garlic cheese . So sorry they discontinued it as it was always the cheese used in cheese grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe tasted DELICIOUS. Creamy and rich and cheese-y. But, it was swimming in butter fat. I mean I took paper towel after paper towel and pressed it into the grease in the pan to sop up the grease. Even then it continued to ooze grease so my son-in-law tilted the pan on one end so that we could better drain the grits. Yes, I'll make this recipe again, but I'll definitely reduce the butter content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I made this recipe almost exactly as written, except I used sharp cheddar instead of the American cheese. It was good, and I will probably use it again, but next time I will leave out the seasoned salt and go with plain salt, and maybe add a little garlic. The seasoned salt just gave it a really odd flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made this for a work brunch tomorrow & baked for 30 mins. I'll finish heating thru before I leave for work in the morning. I thought this photo would show the nice egg "puff" while baking. I made a few changes to the recipe. I used just one stick of unsalted butter and only 1 tsp. of Cholula and salt because the cheese is so salty. My real grits were buggy so I had to rush out to shop and settled for Quaker quick grits, not instant. A good tip is to "temper" the beaten eggs before adding so they don't cook and clump when adding to hot grits. To temper, add several spoonsful of hot grits to the bowl of eggs and stir. The eggs will stay nice and smooth and blend well in the hot grits. Other than licking the scraper, I haven't tried them yet...but the scraper was delicious..tho the salt and fat content is troubling. I agree with another reviewer that you can add or subtract ingrediens to suit your family's tastes. NEXT DAY: It took longer than 30 mins at 350 to reheat. The dish was very rich and tasty but next time I'll add garlic and more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Easy. Very, Very yummy and GLUTEN FREE!! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hager Hansgen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
These were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Outstanding recipe! I used quick-cook grits because that's all I had -- a heaping cup of quick-cook to 4 cups of water did the trick. Put a pressed clove of garlic in the grits water for flavor, and used cheddar cheese an some fresh-grated parmesan for the cheeses. I baked it longer than called for, and it came out sliceable but still a great soft texture. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
My daughter served these at our 1st ever Ladies Brunch and they were the hit of the meal! We're having our 2nd ever Ladies Brunch this weekend and guess what is on the menu again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by josiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shooter
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Excellent! Followed the recipe exactly except for adding some hickory smoked bacon pieces to the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States