Cheese Garlic Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Very good. I also doubled the baking powder. My family loves them. They are very easy to make and do taste like the ones from RL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Tasty with soup :) or as a snack. My mom told me they were addictive. I only used garlic powder instead of cloves and mixed in they turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FriskyBiscuits

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I've made these a few times and it seems to be the only recipe my family loves. They don't get too dry... I sometimes will add a bit of sour cream so they'll stay more moist for a longer period of time ( my husband likes to bring them to work with soup, stews etc ) We're just nibbling down on them right now with some chicken. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Really good but I did make changes that were suggested in the reviews. I used 1 3/4 cup flour 1/2 teas salt 1 teas baking powder 1/2 teas baking soda 1 cup milk 1 1/2 cup cheese only 4 tablespoons butter (that I put in the freezer for a bit then used my shredder to shred them in the mix) and I used quite a lot of garlic powder with parsley. They did not need any more butter than that and I did not use any kind of topping. They were really good and my kids ate 3 each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I liked the flavor, but they were flat and dense and felt there was actually too much butter in them. If I did make them again, which I'm not sure that I will, I would cut down on the butter and add more baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Since so many stated that their biscuits were flat I took the advice of others and baked mine in a 12 count prepared cupcake pan and doubled the baking powder. Cut cold butter into small pieces or use grater for ease in mixing with the flour. I used a cookie scoop to place the sticky dough into the pan. They turned out beautifully. Easy and quick recipe that requires no rolling or cutting of dough. This is an extra plus since the less you handle a biscuit dough the fluffier the biscuits will be. For added flavor, next time I will be adding garlic to the dough instead of just brushing tops with garlic butter. I decreased my oven temperature to 375 degrees. This recipe definitely is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Tossed in some dried rosemary, thyme and parsley for a bit of an herb kick - a few sprinkles of garlic powder and skipped the butter/ garlic brush on - (more for my gut - I'm sure it tastes awesome)! Turned out fantastic!! And I am far from any kind of "baker"! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Thought it turned out pretty good. The baking tip some of you left really makes a difference. My biscuits have previously been too hard and now I know the trick is to not overmix the batter. I used extra sharp cheddar and added baking soda and garlic powder. I also froze the butter for 10 minutes and grated it like some of you suggested. I taste tested 3 out of the 11 I made so make 2 batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I really liked them. I added 1 tsp. of garlic powder, but will cut back to 1/2 tsp. next time. I upped the baking powder to 2 tsp since similar recipes call for 1 T. I froze the butter like others suggested and used a grater; then mixed it in with the dry ingredients with two knives like I was cutting spaghetti. I also upped the cheese to 1 1/2 cups and tried to barely mix the cheese and milk - it was still floury in a few places. I wouldn't say they rose, but didn't flatten like cookies either. They looked like the photo and those served at restaurants. I placed golf ball sized balls onto ungreased parchment paper and although they did not slide off they were easily removed with a spatula. Used preminced garlic in a jar for the butter topping and the rolls soaked it up nicely. I will definitely serve these rolls with fish or other seafood in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Amazing recipe! After reading a few other reviews here are the changes I made and it came out beautifully on the outside as well as the inside: Plz bare in mind that I decided not to make little spoonful biscuits, but instead used my "already dirty" 1/4 measuring cup to equally scoop out the mixture onto baking sheet which made moist and bigger biscuits like at the RL restaurant. -double-up on salt & baking pwder -start preheating at 400 F and bake for 17 min. -then bring temp up to 450 F for another 5-7 min. -while they are still baking, brush the biscuits with the butter-garlic mixture and repeat once they are out of the oven. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States