Cheese Garlic Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Very good, and yes similar in taste to RL. I did make a couple of changes. I added some garlic powder and a couple dashes of baking soda to the dry ingredients. I also needed to use @1/8 cup more flour. The dough was still really sticky but the biscuits rose nicely in the oven and had a pretty light consistency. Don't overmix or you will end up with hockey pucks! I used a 4 cheese mexican blend and it gave them a nice flavor. I will make these again and again-easy and great flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARSAILI
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
These were excellent. As an "avid baker" who has not been to culinary school but bakes my own breads everyday, the key to any biscuit recipe is not to over mix them, otherwise you get the glutens going and they will be dense and hard--just mix enough to blend the ingredients and don't over handle the dough. The only change I made was to add some more garlic and I use whatever cheeses I have available---they are always awesome! Thanks for the recipe! Oh, and if you use parchment paper on your pans, the biscuits won't stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARSAILI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
These biscuits were woooonnnnnderfulllll!!!!! I added twice as much salt, a bit more cheese (two big handfuls of cheese, to be exact), and freshly ground pepper. Also, the cheese was a finely shredded Mexican cheese blend, not just cheddar. I think they'd be even better if you added some grated cheese, but also some small cubes of cheese so there'd be some really cheesy spots. I can't figure out though why you need a full 1/4 cup of butter to brush on top, I used less than half and the biscuits were still soaked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Photo by Nikki Filippone
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
My boyfriend called these "addictive". His only complaint was that the cheese didn't melt inside. I think that had something to do with the temperature being so high, which baked the outside but didn't give it enough time to bake the inside. Next time I'm going to try baking these at 400 instead of 450 for around 17 minutes. UPDATE: I reheated these a couple of days later on 350 for 5-10 minutes, and they were absolutely perfect. My mom and brothers all thought they tasted exactly like the buscuits from Red Lobster. If I can get the heated through the right amount the first time, I'd say these are definitely a 5 out of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Filippone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
These were OK. The taste was there, but not quite the right consistancy it would have if you had used a baking mix(ie.Bisquick). I worked at a Red Lobster many years ago and would eat these on the regular and they also used a baking mix with their's. However this is a good alternative if you don't have the mix. FYI, use parchment paper or spray on the pan because I practically had to chizzle the biscuits of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
definately double up on baking powder! I used buttermilk and they were PERFECT! Crispy outside, soft and tender inside. I also froze my butter for about 10 minutes then grated it into flour mixture and tossed everything together. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I doubled the baking powder and I used lactose-free whole milk and margerine instead of butter because I have a child who struggles with a slight lactose intolerance. I shredded half of the cheese and cubed the rest into small small bits. I dropped the batter for these biscuits into greased muffin tins. I served these with Easy Tortellini Soup, which is also from this site. The boys thought they were GREAT--they used a lot of them to sop up the soup from their bowls. Next time, I think I'd like to make them even more garlic-y and add either fresh minced garlic or a teaspoon of garlic powder into the biscuit batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
I thought these were very good. I was a little hesitant in trying this because of the rating given by the "AVID BAKER, on her way to CULINARY SCHOOL"......We really enjoyed these. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
i tryed this recipe last night to find out i didn't have any milk so i used 4 tsp mayo and 1 egg.and they camed out delicios i did doubled the cheese like some of the reviewer said i added dried oregano and a pinch of baking soda to the mixture.and it was so delicious Thanks Marge this one is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Ever in search of the Red Lobster biscuit. I usually make another recipe on this site that calls for baking mix (Bisquick). I was out, so I went with this one, and I think its better. But, I did doctor it up some after reading the reviews. To the dry mix -- I added some garlic powder, more salt, double the baking powder, about a 1 1/2 cups of cheese, and some fresh ground black pepper. For the butter topping -- about half the amount of butter, double the garlic, and added some parmesan and parsley. I also used Pam on the baking sheet, since many complained of the biscuits sticking. Also, in my oven (and I used a thermometer) they took more like 15-20 minutes than the called for 12-15. Happy biscuit eatin'! Had with some ham and bean soup. Yes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States