Cheese Garlic Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Just made these and they are delish, even I like them and I'm not a big fan of quick breads of this sort, I prefer my gluten yeasty and crisped. I had to make a few changes to suit our tastes. First, I didn't shred the cheese, I cut it into little chunks, I figured they'd be less likely to get lost in the biscuity flavor that way. Second, I subbed 1/2 cup of whole wheat for the AP, I love the taste of all purpose, but whole wheat doesn't leave me feeling bloated. Third, I used a combo of plain yogurt thinned with milk, I think these biscuits needed the sour flavor boost. Fourth, I didn't make them into drop biscuits, I prefer a more formal look for my biscuits so I rolled and cut them into hearts and stars (!FANCY!). Last, once I cut the dough and plopped them onto a cookie sheet, I slid them straight into the freezer. I think allowing the butter to cool down after all that manhandling, makes the biscuits fluffier. Mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
wow! these are so yummo w no alterations. love em! i used my kitchen aid to cut in cold butter and stir until blended. i will make tons more in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These were a huge hit! Followed the advice of others to not overmix...I was very careful to just barely mix ingredients and also added garlic salt to the dry ingredients. The butter on top of the biscuits is overkill and these would be great without it (and a little healthier)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this recipe as written but using Gluten Free all purpose flour. I did add a dash of pepper and 2 big hand-fulls of cheese. Next time I will add garlic powder and more salt, I think that will do it. Overall Just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
For light, fluffy biscuits, increase the baking powder to 2 teaspoons, and add 1/4 teaspoon baking soda. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
These are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These were great! I doubled the baking powder, added a touch of baking soda and I added garlic salt to the melted butter and they were exactly like Red Lobster. DO NOT OVERMIX like others said or you will have a tray of flat hockey pucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
These were just like Red Lobster's biscuits. They were really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I added some extra cheese and put them on parchment paper so they wouldn't stick and they turned out great! I didn't use a whole 1/4 cup of butter to brush them with though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynm87

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 121-130 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States