Cheese Garlic Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Since so many stated that their biscuits were flat I took the advice of others and baked mine in a 12 count prepared cupcake pan and doubled the baking powder. Cut cold butter into small pieces or use grater for ease in mixing with the flour. I used a cookie scoop to place the sticky dough into the pan. They turned out beautifully. Easy and quick recipe that requires no rolling or cutting of dough. This is an extra plus since the less you handle a biscuit dough the fluffier the biscuits will be. For added flavor, next time I will be adding garlic to the dough instead of just brushing tops with garlic butter. I decreased my oven temperature to 375 degrees. This recipe definitely is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Tossed in some dried rosemary, thyme and parsley for a bit of an herb kick - a few sprinkles of garlic powder and skipped the butter/ garlic brush on - (more for my gut - I'm sure it tastes awesome)! Turned out fantastic!! And I am far from any kind of "baker"! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Thought it turned out pretty good. The baking tip some of you left really makes a difference. My biscuits have previously been too hard and now I know the trick is to not overmix the batter. I used extra sharp cheddar and added baking soda and garlic powder. I also froze the butter for 10 minutes and grated it like some of you suggested. I taste tested 3 out of the 11 I made so make 2 batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I really liked them. I added 1 tsp. of garlic powder, but will cut back to 1/2 tsp. next time. I upped the baking powder to 2 tsp since similar recipes call for 1 T. I froze the butter like others suggested and used a grater; then mixed it in with the dry ingredients with two knives like I was cutting spaghetti. I also upped the cheese to 1 1/2 cups and tried to barely mix the cheese and milk - it was still floury in a few places. I wouldn't say they rose, but didn't flatten like cookies either. They looked like the photo and those served at restaurants. I placed golf ball sized balls onto ungreased parchment paper and although they did not slide off they were easily removed with a spatula. Used preminced garlic in a jar for the butter topping and the rolls soaked it up nicely. I will definitely serve these rolls with fish or other seafood in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Amazing recipe! After reading a few other reviews here are the changes I made and it came out beautifully on the outside as well as the inside: Plz bare in mind that I decided not to make little spoonful biscuits, but instead used my "already dirty" 1/4 measuring cup to equally scoop out the mixture onto baking sheet which made moist and bigger biscuits like at the RL restaurant. -double-up on salt & baking pwder -start preheating at 400 F and bake for 17 min. -then bring temp up to 450 F for another 5-7 min. -while they are still baking, brush the biscuits with the butter-garlic mixture and repeat once they are out of the oven. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
these were delicious!! i always double it because its a hit in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Loved them. Went easy on the garlic in the butter. I would be willing to bet that Red Lobster puts garlic salt in their butter, not actual garlic. I like this better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Love these! Very easy and quick to make. The only thing is that I would reduce the heat just a tad and bake a minute or two longer. Tastes just like RL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These were delicious. I followed the other reviewers advice and doubled the baking powder while adding a pinch of baking soda. I used a ton of cheese and added some garlic powder to the batter. The biscuits are moist and cheesy and delicious. I baked 6 in a muffin ttray and the remaining 3 were baked on a cookie sheet. The ones on the sheet came out rather flat. I would not recommend using a baking sheet for this recipe, but a muffin tray. The biscuits baked in the muffin tray held their form and had a good consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
These are the best! A nice flaky and savory biscuit. Reminds me of the biscuits we once had at red lobster, but better! I'll be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States