Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2000
Not too many ingredients and it was delicious with the french bread. We also used apple slices for dipping, and it was just as delicious with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
SImple to make and even more fun to eat with friends. Flavorful but not overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
I think I'd like this better with a smidge less nutmeg. However, this recipe is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
My first time making cheese fondue. This was simple and really delicious. We had it with sourdough french bread. Very tasty. Will definatly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
When we added the flour, the fondue suddenly became oily, but I think that helped it to stay liquid longer. We put it in a pumpernickel bread bowl and dipped bread and veggies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
Very good! The only thing I would change about this recipe is the amount. It made enough fondue for dipping at least two loaves of french bread, which is closer to 10 servings. Next time I will cut the ingredients in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
don't need to add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
I was a little let down by the oil content in the cheeses I selected. This is a great dish! I am part Swiss and had the pleasure of growing up eating this stuff and take it from me; this is a great version. The white wine and flour were new to as I usually use Kirsch instead (I actually thought this version with wine was better - Sorry Dad!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
this was a really good recipe, however, I needed to alter it because it wasn't as flavorful as I would have liked. I adjusted the recipe as follows: add an extra 1/2 cup of white wine (a good portion of it evaporates while simmering). Delete the 2 Tablespoons of flour. It made it too pasty and glue-like. Add an extra 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. Add a half cup of dry cooking sherry. The next time I make it, I'll also add some minced garlic clove, ground black pepper, and lemon juice to add a bit of zing to it. The original recipe was good but extremely mild. A good base to work with, though, for your own kitchen experiments. The extra wine and sherry will give it a sure kick. I served it in a rye bread bowl, and it turned out to be more of a spread vs. a fondue (did not have room for a crock pot on the hors d'oeuvre table). Highly recommended with green apple slices, veggies, and chopped up rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
Grating the cheese was a little messy, but I served at my 12 year old daughter's birthday party and her friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States