Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I followed the tip to add garlic to the wine while it's simmering and tossing the cheese in the flour and it turned out perfect. It was the perfect valentines day dinner even my picky boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Perfecto! I added the flour to the cheese before adding to the wine & added 2 cloves of garlic to the wine. This was all done in the fondue pot. Best recipe I have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
The best cheese fondue we've ever had! Made it for Valentine's Day and it was a big hit. We started with a broth based fondue where we cooked beef tenderloin, chicken, lobster, broccoli, and mushrooms. We let the cheese fondue cook on low heat (2) for over 30 minutes while we enjoyed the broth fondue. With two teenage football players in the family, I cooked a total of 1 1/2 lb of cheese; 1/2 lb swiss, 1/2 lb gruyere, 1/2 lb emmentaler. With all these nutty cheeses I was afraid that the nutmeg would be too much, but at the very end it was the right decision to add it. We had cut the cheese in 1/2 inch squares instead of grating it, and the cheese was lumpy during the melting process, but I think the low heat and long cooking time helped as it turned out very nice and smooth at the end. I used sauvignon blanc as the wine. Best cheese fondue ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was my first attempt at fondue after I got a fondue pot for Xmas. It was good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by runningslp
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Added garlic instead of nutmeg. DELICIOUS! But so much food! Be ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was delicious! Had the family over for a fondue night; six adults enjoyed this as a cheese appetizer. Used green apples, bread, and an assortment of vegetables for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this tonight and it was my first time to make a cheese fondue from scratch! It was a huge success and easy! I added the cheese slowly - letting each 1/4 lb melt before adding the next. After adding the 2T flour everything blended beautifully! We loved it - I definitely will share this with all my friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We made this recipe as an appetizer for Christmas and it was a total hit. I followed the directions for preparation exactly as described in the recipe - except we added a few cloves of minced fresh garlic - and the foundue was creamy and tasted delicious. We used a good Chardonnay, high quality, imported Swiss and Gruyere cheeses and stirred the cheeses into the hot wine in quarter pound increments. We kept our electric fondue pot plugged in and after an hour, the fondue got pretty thick, so we just stirred in a bit more wine to thin it down and it was once again very creamy. We served with cubes of crusty bread, crudités and chunks of fresh pears & apples. This recipe made enough for 6 adults to nibble on all afternoon and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Blagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I have tried several recipes from AllRecipes.com over the years. Mostly they have been good. I have never felt compelled to rate a recipe until today. This is the most disgusting thing I have ever smelled in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Fondue is my favorite and this one was too swissy for me. Cut the Swiss into 1/4 of the portion! Gross! Tasted like a melted string cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbydede

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States