Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is the same recipe that I use, except that mine says the salt is only if you want it and I don't. I agree with the reviewer who said that they were told to only cook with something that you would drink. That is definitely something to cook by. This recipe is made all in the fondue pot, but the truth is that is depends on the type of pot and the type of heating (candle, electric, etc.). It makes a difference how hot the temperature gets and how much control you have over that heat. It can help to make the foundue in a pot on the stove and transfer it into the fondue pot. It also helps, as another reviewer mentioned, to add more wine when the mix becomes thick. (Or add cream if you are making chocolate fondue.) Also, tossing the cheese with the flour eliminates the clumping issues with the flour. For the person who said that the cheese never melted all the way, you did not have enough heat and might have benefited from melting in a pan on the stove and transferring it whene it was melted. Thanks Sheila for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This fondue came out grit-like (grainy). I'm not a huge fan of grits, so I dont think this will be a repeat recipe. Although, we didn't use lemon and that may solve the texture issue we had. Give it a whirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was totally perfect! I even used bagged, shredded swiss and it turned out fantastic! Measurements are spot on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This fondue worked like a charm for me. I used a double boiler to melt the cheese in the wine and then put it in my fondue pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Tasty! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Made this as-is, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Excellent recipe. I skipped nutmeg and salt (there is plenty of it already in the cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I had a block of gruyere that I needed to use so fondue was an obvious choice. Other than adding minced garlic I followed the recipe exactly. I have to guess that a fondue pot is critical. I did this on the stovetop, patiently stirring in the cheese after about the third handful, I ended up with a lump of stringy cheese in a pot of wine. I used quality cheese, and a good whine. I was very frustrated and as a last ditch effort to save the dish we cranked up the heat and stirred vigorously, which did result in a very thick, somewhat stringy, but finally melted pan of cheese. I also tried the lemon juice trick, and it did not help. I read a lot of the reviews and I can't quite figure out why this works for some and not for others! In the future I'll save myself the frustration, for what I spent on the cheese, wine, and dip items the Melting Pot is much less expensive : ) Forgot to mention, this did taste good though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
the people who say it was lumpy were either impatient or didn't do something right, use good wine and emetauler cheese (pricy but awesome), we had this with bread cubes, chopped up brocolli and cauliflower, and a nice filet mignon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I tried it with the ingredients exactly as written, and it was really good. I did make some changes to make it perfect: 1/4 tsp garlic powder and a few drops of Worcestershire sauce. Also did as someone suggested and tossed the cheese/flour together before melting. I had no problems with clumping. I used Sauvignon Blanc. Served it with french bread, a cut up apple, carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States