Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This fondue came out grit-like (grainy). I'm not a huge fan of grits, so I dont think this will be a repeat recipe. Although, we didn't use lemon and that may solve the texture issue we had. Give it a whirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was totally perfect! I even used bagged, shredded swiss and it turned out fantastic! Measurements are spot on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This fondue worked like a charm for me. I used a double boiler to melt the cheese in the wine and then put it in my fondue pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Tasty! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Made this as-is, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Excellent recipe. I skipped nutmeg and salt (there is plenty of it already in the cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I had a block of gruyere that I needed to use so fondue was an obvious choice. Other than adding minced garlic I followed the recipe exactly. I have to guess that a fondue pot is critical. I did this on the stovetop, patiently stirring in the cheese after about the third handful, I ended up with a lump of stringy cheese in a pot of wine. I used quality cheese, and a good whine. I was very frustrated and as a last ditch effort to save the dish we cranked up the heat and stirred vigorously, which did result in a very thick, somewhat stringy, but finally melted pan of cheese. I also tried the lemon juice trick, and it did not help. I read a lot of the reviews and I can't quite figure out why this works for some and not for others! In the future I'll save myself the frustration, for what I spent on the cheese, wine, and dip items the Melting Pot is much less expensive : ) Forgot to mention, this did taste good though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
the people who say it was lumpy were either impatient or didn't do something right, use good wine and emetauler cheese (pricy but awesome), we had this with bread cubes, chopped up brocolli and cauliflower, and a nice filet mignon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I tried it with the ingredients exactly as written, and it was really good. I did make some changes to make it perfect: 1/4 tsp garlic powder and a few drops of Worcestershire sauce. Also did as someone suggested and tossed the cheese/flour together before melting. I had no problems with clumping. I used Sauvignon Blanc. Served it with french bread, a cut up apple, carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Best cheese fondue I've ever made, and we've tried a few! It was incredibly easy and very smooth. Some cheese fondues I've tried in the past turned out clumpy or rubbery, but this one was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States