Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I've tried several cheese fondue recipes and this was my favorite! I used a dry Sauvignon Blanc (Hogue Sauvignon Blanc) from Trader Joes. I grated the cheese and it started to turn into a big lump so I stirred it less and added several drops of lemon juice. We ate the entire pound of cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Very tasty recipe! I used smoked Gruyere, less nutmeg, omitted the salt, and added a spoonful of Dijon mustard. I also toasted the bread. Perfect amount of cheese for the bread, too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Made exactly as written except I tossed the flour with the cheese. This was my first time buying Gruyere, wow, it's expensive. ($10) It was very good. I asked my husband if it was worth the expensive cheese. He said that if we had company it would definately be worth it, but for just the two of us maybe we won't buy the expensive stuff next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
We loved it, we even added some cheddar to it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I followed other's advice and used a vegetable broth instead of white wine, next time I will use the white wine when the kids are not here I also followed the other's advice and mixed the flour with the cheese prior to melting. I did cook on the stove top for a bit and then added to the fondue pot. For a truly special dish invest in the real cheese it will be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
delicious! never done fondue before, but the taste on this was amazing. the cheese takes a long time to incorporate with the wine, but i guess that's just the nature of the beast. would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Juliana
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I give this recipe 5 stars with the following changes. 1. Add the juice of 1/2 a lemon to the mixture. 2. Coat your cheese in the flour instead of adding the flour separately. I served it with cubes of crunchy, warm french bread, raw broccoli, raw mushrooms and cut-up green apple for our New Years Eve dinner. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This fondue was so good. I am new to fondue and the bottom of the pot started to overcook, but my guests and I were still taking bites of the cheese it was so delicious! Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acfrisz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Fantastic! I've made fondue numerous times. However, the consistency was always hit or miss. It sometimes would separate, cheese from wine. Very rarely did it have the look of The Melting Pot's fondue. This recipe easily duplicates that luxurious consistency and taste from a restaurant. The only taste we missed was the faint hint of garlic rubbed on the fondue pot, prior to beginning cooking. Of course when choosing a wine, especially for this recipe where the wine plays a dominate part, take a cup from whatever you are planning on drinking. The wine definitely does make a difference. If you wouldn't drink it on it's own, then you will not like it in any fondue. Thank you Sheila, this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is the same recipe that I use, except that mine says the salt is only if you want it and I don't. I agree with the reviewer who said that they were told to only cook with something that you would drink. That is definitely something to cook by. This recipe is made all in the fondue pot, but the truth is that is depends on the type of pot and the type of heating (candle, electric, etc.). It makes a difference how hot the temperature gets and how much control you have over that heat. It can help to make the foundue in a pot on the stove and transfer it into the fondue pot. It also helps, as another reviewer mentioned, to add more wine when the mix becomes thick. (Or add cream if you are making chocolate fondue.) Also, tossing the cheese with the flour eliminates the clumping issues with the flour. For the person who said that the cheese never melted all the way, you did not have enough heat and might have benefited from melting in a pan on the stove and transferring it whene it was melted. Thanks Sheila for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States