Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I have a couple of recommendations for this recipe, first, don't use store bought shredded cheese, shred your own. store bought shredded has starches to prevent clumping, that when used like this create a starchy curd lump. second, I melt about a 1/4 cup of butter, and blend your flour into it, cook it on the stovetop until you get a nutty odor from it, use this (called roux in cooking) rather than the straight flour, as it will blend smoother and prevent graininess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Rintamaki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
OK, so I'm a guy. That will explain everything. White wine? I used some old White Zinfandel that my wife's been sipping at (I hardly drink at all), maybe a half-pound of Swiss and a third or so each of Muenster and Provolone. We didn't have nutmeg, so we used thyme. No added salt; there's enough in the cheese. I read a few of the reviews about lumping and figured I'd help my odds with a little lemon juice. Added a dash of garlic powder just for the heck of it. My wife cut up an English cucumber and a red bell pepper and some kind of crusty (not French) bread. It certainly wasn't the recipe's fault if this turned out awful, but it didn't! My wife and I are both bloated on a fine, fine cheese fondue dinner. Folks, if I can get it right, anybody can! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Sample

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Nope. Nothin 'to add, alter, change. This is fan-freakin-tanstic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I like simple recipes with good ingredients and this one is all that. I didn't use the nutmeg or garlic powder or any addition. Also, I made it with beer instead of wine which I just like better but that's up to individual taste. I cut the bread (we used a 7 grain nutty affair) into cubes and slid them under the broiler for a few minutes for crispness and better fork staying power. I suggest you cut the cheese into cubes and toss them with the flour before adding to the hot beer and stir stir stir. Add just a few at a time and did I mention to stir stir stir? It comes out creamy and deliciouseeotitites!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PegInPhilly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caldwell, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I admit that I am a very picky eater, and today is the first time I decided to try fondue. This is a good recipe, but I think I would cut back on the Gruyere next time. It's quite strong, at least for my tastes. This first try, I cut it back to about three ounces and used 3 oz of white cheddar I had left, and even then it was pretty strong. Although, I used Jarlsburg cheese instead of Swiss, so maybe that's part of it. Also, the lemon and flour advice is very helpful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Good enough to eat, but I don't plan on making it again. Not sure what exactly to put my finger on, but the flavor was not appealing to me. I was snacking on the extra cheese I had before hand and was pleased with the quality of what I bought, I've used the same wine before in other recipes, and I'm accustomed to nutmeg paired with creamy/cheesy dishes, but the combination in this recipe didn't suit me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camee'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I followed the tip to add garlic to the wine while it's simmering and tossing the cheese in the flour and it turned out perfect. It was the perfect valentines day dinner even my picky boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Perfecto! I added the flour to the cheese before adding to the wine & added 2 cloves of garlic to the wine. This was all done in the fondue pot. Best recipe I have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
The best cheese fondue we've ever had! Made it for Valentine's Day and it was a big hit. We started with a broth based fondue where we cooked beef tenderloin, chicken, lobster, broccoli, and mushrooms. We let the cheese fondue cook on low heat (2) for over 30 minutes while we enjoyed the broth fondue. With two teenage football players in the family, I cooked a total of 1 1/2 lb of cheese; 1/2 lb swiss, 1/2 lb gruyere, 1/2 lb emmentaler. With all these nutty cheeses I was afraid that the nutmeg would be too much, but at the very end it was the right decision to add it. We had cut the cheese in 1/2 inch squares instead of grating it, and the cheese was lumpy during the melting process, but I think the low heat and long cooking time helped as it turned out very nice and smooth at the end. I used sauvignon blanc as the wine. Best cheese fondue ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States