Cheese Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Great simple recipe. The texture is just how biscuits should be--a bit dry and crispy outside, light and moist inside. I felt like it needed some changes, though. I added fresh green onion with the cheese and milk since I didn't have chives, and that was a nice addition. I followed other reviewers' advice and added some extra Parmesan with the aged cheddar, but still thought they weren't cheesy enough. Also tasted like way too much garlic salt. Next time, I'll cut down on the garlic salt and add raw garlic with the green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Excellent recipe! I did use 1 cup milk and also added straight 1/4tsp garlic powder and fresh chives instead of dried. My only comment is I think I would cut the salt a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
So happy to find a drop biscuit recipe to use as a guideline! I almost never follow a recipe exactly. Instead of garlic salt, chives, and milk, I used 1c. buttermilk, 1t. kosher salt, & 1/2 c. aged white cheddar. I served it for breakfast with scrambled eggs, diced ham & onions, topped with some of the same white cheese. I look forward to making these biscuits again; they were perfect. It would definitely be good with fresh chives. I will do a decadent bacon grease and bits instead of shortening for a special occasion. My oven only heats to 350, I made 9 good size biscuits and baked for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
How is this perfect for CAMPING if they are made in the oven? Can someone help me adjust this to propane stove top directions!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
There is a golden rule when making biscuits. " the wetter the dough the better the biscuit" This recipe i found to need an extra 1/4 cup or milk to qualify as a dry biscuit when cooked. I fallowed the recipe exactly. After making 2 biscuits as a test I found the recipe was so flawed I added more milk and some more spices such as taragon chopped onion and pepper. i also added a small handful of extra cheese. Only then did the recipe taste decent. This recipe is nothing more then flawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Absolutely dry and bland, I would probably add more milk and quite a bit more of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
They are very tasty my whole family loves them. I've made them several times I sometimes add things like fresh diced onion, bell pepper, garlic an parmasion And sometimes I don't change a thing. They are always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Pretty good and easy to make! I added more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
A good basic recipe that's made fantastic by making a few changes. I used a full tablespoon of dried chives, & a teaspoon of garlic powder instead of salt. I also used vegetable oil instead of shortening, & a full cup tex-mex shredded cheese in the place of cheddar. And they turned out wonderfully. A lot of people have suggested adding parmesan as well & I've made these using a pre-shredded 4 cheese blend of italian cheeses from the deli section of my grocery store with equally delicious results. Will be coming back to this one again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastern Passage, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Very good! My son made these to go with dinner and they came out perfectly. We did use garlic powder instead of garlic salt and about a cup of shredded cheese. Baked them in muffin cups. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States