Cheese Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2000
This makes a terrific dip for pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
this recipe is very good i use it every time i make califlower or broccoli my husband and kids enjoy it very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This recipe introduced me to the roux. Excluding the ingredients specific to the cheese sauce, I use the roux from this recipe as a base to make seafood chowder, using seafood chowder mix in place of the flour. Or any cream base sauce from a package, like an Alfredo, and use that in place of the flour. Back to the cheese dipping sauce, I do add much more cheese. And/or any other non-processed cheese I have on hand like Parmesan or Asiago. Thank you for this recipe, it has become the foundation for many of my cooking creations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFIRE2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Digby, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Perfect on veggies. I had no problem with consistency using a quality longhorn cheddar. It is on the salty side so either cut back or eliminate entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seven Valleys, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Great consistency. I did add 1/2 tsp. worcestershire sauce and was careful to add the milk slowly. I used it on broccoli and cauliflower and am looking forward to trying it on a variety of other thigs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This was an awesome cheese sauce and so VERY easy to make. I followed the directions exactly (other than I added a touch of Worchestershire sauce) and it turned out perfect! I never have trouble getting my kids to eat their veggies, but let me tell you they RAVED over them with this cheese sauce. My daughter asked if everytime I make cauliflower, if I could please make this sauce. Thanks SO MUCH Jackie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
this sauce is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
A good all-purpose cheese sauce. I add one half teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce to kick it up a bit. I've also noticed that if you use pre-grated cheese-in-a-bag, the texture is grainy. Just grate up some good cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Sorry folks, but I’m afraid those of you having trouble with the grainy texture are not cooking the recipe correctly. Just a guess but I think you are not simmering the butter and flour or maybe adding the milk too quickly. I did not change anything in the recipe and it turned out perfect. My sister and her husband came over and they loved it too. I served it over broccoli. My husband won't eat it without cheese. I usually just use a jar cheese but this is definitely better, I'll never buy another jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This sauce is delicous. I took one reviewers idea of addind salsa and making it a sauce for nachos and it was fab. Will definitely be making again. Only thing that went wrong was adding in the flour but that was my fault not the recipes. Highly recommended sauce. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States