Cheese Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I haven't tried this yet, but I just wanted to say that the people who have grainy cheese sauce are likely "rushing" the process. Either mixing ingredients in too quickly or having the heat up too high. If cheese boils, it tends to get quite grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dyre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Good bait on the salty side added a dash of worshire sauce which toned down the mustard taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I loved this. I used it for the cheese sauce in the Pork Chops and Cheesy Potatoes. It was absolutely wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mesandberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
My daughter and I modified this recipe by adding 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon paprika, and 1/4 teaspoon of onion flakes. We also used old cheese and cream instead of milk. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I used dribs and drabs of cheese around the kitchen to make this (cheddar, jack, and American cheese adding up to one cup), and while the taste was fine, the texture and consistency were terrible. I even let the entire soup simmer for fifteen minutes with the lid off attempting to get rid of its liquid nature, but alas, the result was simply an extremely grainy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was my first cheese sauce ever. It turned out great! I used American Cheese in mine (sorry for manipulating in any way). I read other reviews and can speculate a couple things for others. Butter and flour is a roux so make sure you cook the roux to get the flour taste cooked out. Quality of cheese makes a difference when you return it to a liquid form so if you bought cheap cheese then you may have a less than ideal sauce. I appreciated the mustard. It contributed nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cleo Stacey Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glyndon, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
this is a tasty sauce with nearly endless improvisational possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
The ratios are way off, this came out clumpy and gritty with very little flavor. Will not attempt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
For no apparent reason whatsoever, my cheese sauce was thicker than anticipated. There's nothing wrong with the ratios here -- guess I just had one of "those days" in the kitchen :=) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is a pretty good recipe overall but WAY too salty. I will cut the salt to no more than 1/4t next time although I think it could probably be omitted all together. I also left out the mustard because I was planning to mix with homemade salsa to make a queso-type dip. I wish I could rate higher but that salt just killed it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serendipity414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States