Cheese Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I left out the mustard, but really like the recipe. It came out nice and smooth, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
The gritty or powdery texture MAY come from using shredded cheese from a bag. They coat that stuff in STARCH to prevent it from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
i just tried it —LISA WHETSTINE and i did it in 2 min with ease. go back to the kitchen woman =P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Cut the mustard in half and cook it right so it doesn't come out grainy (read some other reviews that address this) and this sauce comes out pretty tasty. I didn't measure my cheese, pretty sure I used more than the recipe. Add some drops of Sriracha for a little extra zing. Love it with breadsticks I make with the Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Very easy to make! Creamy & tasty! I was out of milk, so I used fat free half & half. I think using a block of cheese instead of bagged makes a big difference. Used only 1/2 tsp mustard and figured I'd adjust from there. The 1/2 tsp was good enough for my taste. Whisking constantly and adding the cheese in a little at a time also helps avoid it being gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This recipe is delicious and easy!! I use this with crusty bread, and is part of our fondue. I just add a little less salt, because I use marble cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Gignac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I love this cheese sauce it is my go to sauce , I use dejion mustard about a tablespoon, a teaspoon of dry mustard powder and a couple splashes of Worcestershire sauce , and it taste amazing I also use low fat milk and I add way more cheese than a cup I split between a mild cheddar and a american it seems to be the best combo also the first few times I tried to make the rou ( flour +butter part) it would get to thick to fast and I would have trouble with clumps so I melt butter then add a little flour at a time until I've unused half the flour then I add about two tablespoons of the milk mix then the rest of the flour it helps making the rou so much easier OK hope that helps I'm going to eat my breakfast burritos !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
it was just ok. The mustard was too much and I like mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was extremely powedery, I didn't using bagged cheese I shredded my own, It has no taste at all and its so gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years and it always turns out well. It's quite flexible since you can tailor it any way you like by changing the type of mustard or cheese (and adding other seasoning, as desired). I think that some people forget that the finished product is always dependent on high-quality ingredients (organic is best, IMO) and proper execution of the recipe. You have to make sure the roux is cooked long enough before slowly adding the milk. It will start to bubble and turn brown, getting slightly thick in the meantime. Using cheese that you've shredded at home may work better since packaged shredded cheese contains additives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States