Cheese Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I needed a dipping sauce for pigs in a blanket and this recipe was perfect for that. I added 1 teaspoon Liquid Smoke for a hickory flavor. Now, to borrow a hint from Rachel Ray: the secret to smoothness is in the stirring. Stir the sauce in a figure 8 motion. I don't know what makes the difference (and neither did she) but it works. Mine was very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This recipe is quick and easy! I think those that find it has a powdery/grainy taste might either be using low fat cheese (why bother!) or you can use corn starch instead of flour - 1 to 2 tbsb just mix it w/ a touch of milk/water in a glass, then add in as a liquid with the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
A good all-purpose cheese sauce. I add one half teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce to kick it up a bit. I've also noticed that if you use pre-grated cheese-in-a-bag, the texture is grainy. Just grate up some good cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
I've tried this recipe twice, but each time it turns out tasting slightly "gritty" or powdery. Tried a little less flour, but no help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This was an awesome cheese sauce and so VERY easy to make. I followed the directions exactly (other than I added a touch of Worchestershire sauce) and it turned out perfect! I never have trouble getting my kids to eat their veggies, but let me tell you they RAVED over them with this cheese sauce. My daughter asked if everytime I make cauliflower, if I could please make this sauce. Thanks SO MUCH Jackie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
I liked this on my baked potato, although I can see how it had the gritty/powdery texture that others have mentioned. I probably wouldn't use this as a "chip" kinda dip, but it did the trick on a potato w/ broccoli. Thanks Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2000
This makes a terrific dip for pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Great cheese sauce, especially on fries or used as nacho dip! For a smooth, creamy texture, use a wire wisk and stir in a figure eight. If the prepared mustard is too stong, shake in a bit of mustard powder instead. For a little kick, add a few drops of jalapeno juice at the end, for the best nacho dip, ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMTrowbridge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This one had me worried at first as it didnt thicken up right away as it was supposed to, but it came through with my patience being tested. My first cheese saucer EVER and what a hit, my very picky friends loved it as I served it over broccoli and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This recipe introduced me to the roux. Excluding the ingredients specific to the cheese sauce, I use the roux from this recipe as a base to make seafood chowder, using seafood chowder mix in place of the flour. Or any cream base sauce from a package, like an Alfredo, and use that in place of the flour. Back to the cheese dipping sauce, I do add much more cheese. And/or any other non-processed cheese I have on hand like Parmesan or Asiago. Thank you for this recipe, it has become the foundation for many of my cooking creations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFIRE2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Digby, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States