Cheese Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
if you use this i would suggest using a strong flavored cheese because i used a medium cheddar (which tasted more like a mild)and the milk overpowered it a bit. tasted mostly like cream with some cheese. and mine was a bit gritty too but it must have been the way i cooked the roux. but anyways i added some seasoned salt and worchestire sauce and it was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I needed a dipping sauce for pigs in a blanket and this recipe was perfect for that. I added 1 teaspoon Liquid Smoke for a hickory flavor. Now, to borrow a hint from Rachel Ray: the secret to smoothness is in the stirring. Stir the sauce in a figure 8 motion. I don't know what makes the difference (and neither did she) but it works. Mine was very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I didn't eat any of this so I'm reporting for others at the party. I used cornstarch instead of flour to get rid of the "gritty" texture. The sauce reheated in the micro when we got there and seemed smoother then than when I first finished it. I used a bag of pre-shredded mexican cheese blend and added a dash of worcestershire sauce for a bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Great simple recipe. You can also double the cheese and add salsa (don't add too much tough or it might become too watery) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraNOh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This one had me worried at first as it didnt thicken up right away as it was supposed to, but it came through with my patience being tested. My first cheese saucer EVER and what a hit, my very picky friends loved it as I served it over broccoli and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was a good, easy sauce. We made barbecue nachos (like from Corky's) using this sauce and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This was really good- Although it did not have the real creamy texture I was looking for...but the mustard addition really gave it a lot of zing that I enjoyed. Very very easy and fast to make. I made a second time the next day and before I added the mustard, I tasted it, its great either with or without the mustard. Homemade bread dipped in this cheese was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This was a very good basic cheese sauce especially for last minute preparation. Had all the ingredients on hand. Put over broccoli and tasted great. Simple but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Great consistency. I did add 1/2 tsp. worcestershire sauce and was careful to add the milk slowly. I used it on broccoli and cauliflower and am looking forward to trying it on a variety of other thigs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Perfect on veggies. I had no problem with consistency using a quality longhorn cheddar. It is on the salty side so either cut back or eliminate entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seven Valleys, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States