Cheese Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Cut salt in half, but it was still too salty. Will try again, but will only add a pinch of salt next time. Tasted great otherwise. Goes well on top of baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
All I could taste was salt. After kicking myself repeatedly for wasting my precious cheese, I started kicking myself for realizing this was only a white sauce, with additions. A white sauce can be flavored with anything (cheese, pan drippings, etc.) and extended by more liquid (water, milk, broth) the way Grammy used to do it. For anyone having a tough time with melted cheese consistency, stirring must be rapid, and constant, until the desired consistency has been reached.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is pretty good stuff! I made it for my daughter to dip her chicken nuggets in and she loved it. (So did I.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RnRMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was my first attempt at this sauce and it turned out really well. I added more cheese than was called for but it was really tasty...the broccoli disappeared!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pais

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Pretty good. You can really taste the real cheese in them so that was nice. I added too much salt so it was a little salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailey5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Great basic sauce. I added green chilies and salsa to it to make nacho cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Add more milk, and use a nice melting cheese, or it will turn out too lumpy and thick. I added some beer to thin it out, and used it for a dipping sauce of mixed fried veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Easy, good. I used pre-shredded tex-mex style cheese and it did not turn out grainy. Make sure you stir continually!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I put in some chopped jalapenos and some garlic powder and left out the mustard, and it was good for nachos! :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Very easy, had all ingredients on hand. No problems with sauce at all. I did not add more salt at all. Great smoothness and worked well with the broccoli and the left over noodles. However, my picky kids would not eat it. I think I will try it with other cheeses next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States