Cheese Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I really didn't care for this sauce. I followed the directions, but cut back on the salt per other reviewers' suggestions. It somehow didn't taste cheesy enough. I think the ratio of cheese to milk should have been more. I added some sliced jalapenos, but that didn't really help. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was just delicious! Perfect cheese sauce I would say. I used really good cheddar and that made it so good. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Great over french fries! Added a tsp worcestershire sauce and a little cayenee pepper for a kick. Used this recipe to make a central IL favorite Horseshoes. A horseshoe is a piece of toast with your favorite cooked meat (hamburger, ham, buffalo chicken breast, etc) on top followed by french fries on top and then covered with cheese sauce! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toulon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Pretty good! I added tex mex seasoning and left out the prepared mustard, because I didn't have any. I found it a bit salty. I will add less (or none at all) salt next time. It was really good with potato wedges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pepperk2

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Complaints about the roux are unfounded. 1T butter, 1T flour, and 1c milk makes a thin pasta sauce, which this is not. This is nicely thick, perfect on toast or baked potatoes. Honestly, this became solid once it went into the fridge, but melts again when we reheat it, because of the really nice aged cheddar we used. That's the other thing: always use a nice cheese in a dish like this. It makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
There is a fundamental flaw in this recipe. When you mix an oil (butter) and flour and milk, you are creating a roux. In order to make sure your recipe doesn't turn out grainy, you need to make the roux correctly. Usually this means for every TBSP or oil, you need a TBSP of butter and a cup of milk. The ratio in this recipe is off. It should be one TBSP butter, one TBSP flour, and one cup milk. You'll have a much smoother outcome. The other important thing is to prepare the roux correctly because it is the base of the dish. making the perfect roux is more intuitive than anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Cut salt in half, but it was still too salty. Will try again, but will only add a pinch of salt next time. Tasted great otherwise. Goes well on top of baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
All I could taste was salt. After kicking myself repeatedly for wasting my precious cheese, I started kicking myself for realizing this was only a white sauce, with additions. A white sauce can be flavored with anything (cheese, pan drippings, etc.) and extended by more liquid (water, milk, broth) the way Grammy used to do it. For anyone having a tough time with melted cheese consistency, stirring must be rapid, and constant, until the desired consistency has been reached.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is pretty good stuff! I made it for my daughter to dip her chicken nuggets in and she loved it. (So did I.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RnRMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was my first attempt at this sauce and it turned out really well. I added more cheese than was called for but it was really tasty...the broccoli disappeared!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pais

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States