Cheese Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Easy, good base for any cheese sauce or dip -- I just made some great chile con queso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
The first time I made this I was throwing a dinner together for company last minute. I fallowed the directions exactly but doubled it I added a tad of garlic salt, bacon bits and chopped jalapeño and drizzled over hot tater tots! This sauce was a hit and was a perfect “spruce up” to just ordinary tots. I will be making this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Williams_wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cordenons, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Excellent recipe - I will never buy velveeta again!!! My daughter likes this better with the mustard cut in half. This could be a great base for queso and tastes great on chicken tenders in its original format.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindeeandgordon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Made this sauce for my broccoli for Easter dinner. It was fantastic. I used cream instead of milk, and I cut the amounts of butter, flour, and salt in half because I didn't plan on making that much. I used about a cup of cream and a cup of cheese and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I really didn't care for this sauce. I followed the directions, but cut back on the salt per other reviewers' suggestions. It somehow didn't taste cheesy enough. I think the ratio of cheese to milk should have been more. I added some sliced jalapenos, but that didn't really help. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was just delicious! Perfect cheese sauce I would say. I used really good cheddar and that made it so good. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Great over french fries! Added a tsp worcestershire sauce and a little cayenee pepper for a kick. Used this recipe to make a central IL favorite Horseshoes. A horseshoe is a piece of toast with your favorite cooked meat (hamburger, ham, buffalo chicken breast, etc) on top followed by french fries on top and then covered with cheese sauce! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toulon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Pretty good! I added tex mex seasoning and left out the prepared mustard, because I didn't have any. I found it a bit salty. I will add less (or none at all) salt next time. It was really good with potato wedges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pepperk2

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Complaints about the roux are unfounded. 1T butter, 1T flour, and 1c milk makes a thin pasta sauce, which this is not. This is nicely thick, perfect on toast or baked potatoes. Honestly, this became solid once it went into the fridge, but melts again when we reheat it, because of the really nice aged cheddar we used. That's the other thing: always use a nice cheese in a dish like this. It makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
There is a fundamental flaw in this recipe. When you mix an oil (butter) and flour and milk, you are creating a roux. In order to make sure your recipe doesn't turn out grainy, you need to make the roux correctly. Usually this means for every TBSP or oil, you need a TBSP of butter and a cup of milk. The ratio in this recipe is off. It should be one TBSP butter, one TBSP flour, and one cup milk. You'll have a much smoother outcome. The other important thing is to prepare the roux correctly because it is the base of the dish. making the perfect roux is more intuitive than anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States