Cheese Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This was wonderful!! Great for parties!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I love this recipe...it goes great with anything! You have to be careful not to overcook/burn the flour mixture, that's why it is getting gritty for some of you. If it turns even a little bit beige or brown, it's no good. I love making this with pepper jack cheese too, it gives it a little kick. So good! I also leave out the salt, because most processed cheese is already so salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HITZFIONA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This sauce is delicous. I took one reviewers idea of addind salsa and making it a sauce for nachos and it was fab. Will definitely be making again. Only thing that went wrong was adding in the flour but that was my fault not the recipes. Highly recommended sauce. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This recipe was pretty much what I was looking for - cheese sauce to go over vegetables such as broccoli, cauliflower, etc. My only complaint is that the sauce was too salty. If you're using a salty cheese (and most cheeses are) you may want to cut back on the salt. Next time I will make it with 1/2 the salt or less. The cheese that I used was Kraft "Classic Melts" pre-shredded cheese blend containing sharp cheddar, American, white cheddar, and monterey jack cheeses. Also, it was a little too thick but this could be remedied with more milk or less cooking time. I did not have a problem with a grainy or powdery texture. Overall a good recipe I look forward to experimenting with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This recipe is quick and easy! I think those that find it has a powdery/grainy taste might either be using low fat cheese (why bother!) or you can use corn starch instead of flour - 1 to 2 tbsb just mix it w/ a touch of milk/water in a glass, then add in as a liquid with the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This was an awesome cheese sauce and so VERY easy to make. I followed the directions exactly (other than I added a touch of Worchestershire sauce) and it turned out perfect! I never have trouble getting my kids to eat their veggies, but let me tell you they RAVED over them with this cheese sauce. My daughter asked if everytime I make cauliflower, if I could please make this sauce. Thanks SO MUCH Jackie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Sorry folks, but I’m afraid those of you having trouble with the grainy texture are not cooking the recipe correctly. Just a guess but I think you are not simmering the butter and flour or maybe adding the milk too quickly. I did not change anything in the recipe and it turned out perfect. My sister and her husband came over and they loved it too. I served it over broccoli. My husband won't eat it without cheese. I usually just use a jar cheese but this is definitely better, I'll never buy another jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
this recipe is very good i use it every time i make califlower or broccoli my husband and kids enjoy it very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Myers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
This would be great on soft pretzels with the mustard, but the kids want to add a half cup salsa next time we make this for nacho chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I opted to used a good swiss cheese with this and dry mustard along with a bit of cayenne for a little kick. I made a funky little side dish using some of our Easter eggs that actually tasted really good. I halved the hard boiled eggs, placed them in a casserole dish, topped them with the sauce along with a sprinkling of parm and popped it in the oven. Good sauce Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States