Cheese Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This recipe introduced me to the roux. Excluding the ingredients specific to the cheese sauce, I use the roux from this recipe as a base to make seafood chowder, using seafood chowder mix in place of the flour. Or any cream base sauce from a package, like an Alfredo, and use that in place of the flour. Back to the cheese dipping sauce, I do add much more cheese. And/or any other non-processed cheese I have on hand like Parmesan or Asiago. Thank you for this recipe, it has become the foundation for many of my cooking creations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFIRE2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Digby, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
It was good but it needs a kick of something to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Blain Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
very good! I used a mix of cheeses I had on hand (lowfat cheddar, smoky bacon cheddar, mexican style). A little hot sauce might give it some zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Ellis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
This is good stuff. I like a bit less mustard though. I use co-jack cheese instead of cheddar. TFS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This is okay. I needed something very fast and I had these ingredients in the frig. We used it with chicken nuggets. Next time I will add hot sauce for a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Much too salty! But it tasted good. I'm sure if I cut back on the salt it would taste fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicky Kumar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This was wonderful!! Great for parties!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I love this recipe...it goes great with anything! You have to be careful not to overcook/burn the flour mixture, that's why it is getting gritty for some of you. If it turns even a little bit beige or brown, it's no good. I love making this with pepper jack cheese too, it gives it a little kick. So good! I also leave out the salt, because most processed cheese is already so salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HITZFIONA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This sauce is delicous. I took one reviewers idea of addind salsa and making it a sauce for nachos and it was fab. Will definitely be making again. Only thing that went wrong was adding in the flour but that was my fault not the recipes. Highly recommended sauce. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This recipe was pretty much what I was looking for - cheese sauce to go over vegetables such as broccoli, cauliflower, etc. My only complaint is that the sauce was too salty. If you're using a salty cheese (and most cheeses are) you may want to cut back on the salt. Next time I will make it with 1/2 the salt or less. The cheese that I used was Kraft "Classic Melts" pre-shredded cheese blend containing sharp cheddar, American, white cheddar, and monterey jack cheeses. Also, it was a little too thick but this could be remedied with more milk or less cooking time. I did not have a problem with a grainy or powdery texture. Overall a good recipe I look forward to experimenting with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States