Cheese Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Very good sauce. I didn't catch the powdery taste others have mentioned. We served it over broccoli and then added the rest to leftover pasta and stuck it in the freezer for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This was a great recipe. Thank you! We all loved it. I substitued the white flour with oat flour, did 1% milk and added approx. 1 tbsp of garlic powder and it was fantastic! Thanks again for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKMabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I melted the butter first and then added the flour and brought it to a boil before adding everything else to make it less grainy. I also added chopped onion and sautéed them for a couple of minutes before adding the milk. It was an excellent addition to our baked potato bar and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I love simple recipes that use ingredients that I have on hand and that taste great and this one hits the mark. Super simple, easy and delicious. Used over veggies, and then dipped some chips in what I had left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
if you use this i would suggest using a strong flavored cheese because i used a medium cheddar (which tasted more like a mild)and the milk overpowered it a bit. tasted mostly like cream with some cheese. and mine was a bit gritty too but it must have been the way i cooked the roux. but anyways i added some seasoned salt and worchestire sauce and it was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I needed a dipping sauce for pigs in a blanket and this recipe was perfect for that. I added 1 teaspoon Liquid Smoke for a hickory flavor. Now, to borrow a hint from Rachel Ray: the secret to smoothness is in the stirring. Stir the sauce in a figure 8 motion. I don't know what makes the difference (and neither did she) but it works. Mine was very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I didn't eat any of this so I'm reporting for others at the party. I used cornstarch instead of flour to get rid of the "gritty" texture. The sauce reheated in the micro when we got there and seemed smoother then than when I first finished it. I used a bag of pre-shredded mexican cheese blend and added a dash of worcestershire sauce for a bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Great simple recipe. You can also double the cheese and add salsa (don't add too much tough or it might become too watery) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraNOh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This one had me worried at first as it didnt thicken up right away as it was supposed to, but it came through with my patience being tested. My first cheese saucer EVER and what a hit, my very picky friends loved it as I served it over broccoli and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was a good, easy sauce. We made barbecue nachos (like from Corky's) using this sauce and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States