Cheese Dip with Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Last summer we had some hot beer cheese dip served with soft pretzel bites at a pub in Waterbury, VT. It was delicious and we've all been craving it. This recipe tastes just like the one we ordered at that pub - my family loved it! Since it was taking a while for the mix of 3 cheeses to melt on the stove, I put them in the microwave (before adding the wheat beer) for a minute or so, stirred, and then poured them back in the pan on the stove to add the beer. That really speeded things up. I had one box of 6 soft SuperPretzels that I heated in the microwave without the salt. Then I cut each pretzel into 6 or so pieces with a pizza cutter. Ideally, we could have used a second box (12 pretzels total)as 6 were not enough. We ended up eating the rest of the dip with Wheat Thins and carrots - it was so good we didn't want any to go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
The flavor of this was very good and it's very, very hearty and filling. If I make this again, I will thin it just a little bit by adding more beer. It's very thick and as it cools it gets thicker. We didn't like it much with bread because it's so creamy. It was much better with crackers and pretzels (anything with a crunch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I made this for a small family get together and the men loved it. My boyfriends brother called the next day for the recipe he wanted to make it for the football game! I served it with bread, chips, crackers, and carrots. Every last drop was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Beer and Cheese....can you go wrong??? Wonderful, this needs to be kept in a heating dish, I used a small crock pot to keep it fluid, otherwise it gets rather hard, pretty fast. This recipe was delicious, I used a hearty beer and the flavor really came through. If you don't like a strong beer flavor I would choose a light beer or an ice brew. YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
DEEEE-LICIOUS! I added a few dashes of Frank's Red Hot (because my boyfriend loves Frank's on everything), but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Used a mild wheat beer. Instead of serving in a breadbowl, I served as a dip with soft pretzels. A total crowd-pleaser - I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katieott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I made this dip for a party at work. Our students loved it, and I'm still getting compliments about what a "great cook" I am! I melted the cream cheese in a crockpot on "high" then added the rest of the cheeses. I stirred pretty continually, and then when the cheese was partially melted I added the beer. When the dip was pretty well mixed I put the crockpot on low and voila! I had to add a little extra beer occasionally throughout the night, but other than that it's such an easy, yummy dip! I served it with pretzel sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I just made the dip part of this recipe. I used a wheat beer and served it with sections of soft pretzels I bought in the freezer section. I also did it in the nuke and then put it in a small crock to keep it warm during the party. Great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARISUENICHOLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was amazing! Everyone ate it up and raved! Some things we added were: add real garlic, and sea salt, and 4 drops of liquid smoke. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I'm not a beer fan, but my friends were raving about a cheese dip made with beer, so I decided to try it, and, well, you won me over. I loved it! It really went well with cauliflower and broccoli! Next time I'll try it with just garlic powder (there's enough salt in the cheese). Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMMYGRRL723

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Brought this for a potluck. I put a little on my plate and later went back to get more, it was gone. The dip has been requested for your next potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ar4stall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States